We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Amazing Addison” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Save
You added The Addison on Amelia Island to your Saves list
614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
GreenLeadersBronze level
cassi7lee
1 review
“The Amazing Addison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Just returned from a weekend getaway at the Addison on Amelia Island and I must say we had a fantastic time!

The hosts, Bob and Shannon were wonderful and very knowledgeable about the island. Bob suggested that after dinner we stop by the bay and watch the sunset.... which was amazing. After that he said we should stop by the local ice cream shop and pick something up for the walk back to the B&B. Such a perfect idea. Shannon's breakfasts were terrific and a great way to start the day.

The rooms were spacious and beautiful. My favorite part was the huge bathtub! I also loved the complimentary bicycles that they have for guests to use. We took the bikes down to the beach with us. The bathtub came in handy after that, the perfect way to relax.

Bottom Line - The Addison on Amelia is a fabulous place to stay and we will definitely be returning soon! Thanks so much Bob and Shannon!

-Cassie & Beau

  • Liked — The innkeepers, breakfast, room, environment
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
567
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We chose the Addison on Amelia for our recent stay at Fernandina Beach. We thoroughly enjoyed the room and the hospitality we received. I love a good breakfast, and it did NOT disappoint! Was right up there with staying at a 5-star hotel as far as service and amenities. We had a shower, not a tub as others have stated, but our shower was a very nice spa shower with 2 heads. Will definitely return in the years to come.

  • Liked — Great owners, great breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

The hubby and I just returned from a fantastic stay at The Addison. We selected The Addison after reading other reviews here on TripAdvisor and we are so glad we did! Our room was super clean and very nice. The bed was the most comfortable we've ever experienced on a trip. And the huge spa shower - very relaxing after spending the day on the beach. The courtyard is beautiful w/ all types of flowers and huge, old oak trees. There's not enough nice things to say about the inn keepers Bob, Shannon and their daughter Leigh. They always made you feel welcome. I am allergic to a lot of fruits and they went out of their way to make me special dishes that I could eat. The breakfast was always to die for - fluffy eggs, fresh fruits, yogart, muffins, pancakes, french toast and more. Coffee cups were always kept full. Happy hour was always enjoyable and the snacks were always yummy. If you are planning to go to the beach, they offer comfy beach chairs, towels and umbrellas and they offer bikes for exploring the island. The Addison is w/in walking distance to fantastic restaurants (Bob & Shannon's recommendations were always right on the money) and walking distance to the shops in the historic part of town. This was our first B&B experience and we def recommend staying here if you are planning a trip to Amelia Island!! We look forward to returning.

  • Liked — Great food, locale, inn keepers
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

This was a great, relaxing, quiet weekend. The room was spacious and very clean and the jacuzzi tub was larger than we expected. The food was excellent and not served in an overboard fashion. The staff was very courteous and informative, including a brief history of the house and some of it's key architectural history. The location was great as we were able to walk to the downtown shopping and dining district. We were sorry we had to leave and will definitely be going back again in the future. thanks for a great weekend.

  • Liked — Large jacuzzi bath
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We have just returned from our very peacfull get away at the Addison on Amelia. The inn keepers couldn't make you feel more at home. Bob and Shannon take special care to make your stay a little piece of heaven. They will make all of you reservations for you for dinner, boat rides, carrage rides, etc.
The breakfasts are by far the best we've ever encountered. The fresh baked muffins melt in your mouth and the smoothies send you into bliss. Each breakfast is served with a beautiful presentation and garnish. This was some of the best food I've experienced. Our favorites were the "breakfast boats" and hashbrowns, the orange pinapple smoothies, bannana nut pancakes with toffee syrup,life's too short eat breakfast first- strawberry short cakes, and the creme brulee french toast.
The rooms are appointed with the most comfortable bed with sheets of egyptian cotton and full down pillows that make your dream time complete.The rooms are furnished with all that you could need during your stay. The jetted tubs are some of the biggest that I've seen, add the lavander bathsalts and all of your troubles melt away.
Every 5 pm is happy hour complete with good food, drinks and stories. The addison really out does themselves with a few of their appitizers. Two of the best were the bruchetta with goat cheese and the mexican bean dip. You inn keepers Bob and Shannon go out of their way to make you feel welcome in their home.
If relaxation is what you need there are may rockers, benches and swings through out the many porches and around their fountain and "english garden" to read or just day dream.
I cannot wait until our next stay at this home away from home.

  • Liked — The way that The innkeepers Bob and Shannon made you feel at home
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

We just celebrated our Anniversary and spent three great days at the Addison. Owners Bob and Shannon, and daughter Lee, not only made you feel at home but were most helpful with their suggestions and recommendations. Bob was even nice enough to suggest the morning we went to the beach to go early to beat all those "tourists."
The room and bath were both large, well equipped and spotless. Breakfasts were wonderful and filling. Happy hour in the courtyard was a fun part of the day and we met many nice and interesting guests. Great restaurants, shopping and boating tours were all within a short walk. Overall, we had a perfect time and look forward to returning.

  • Liked — relaxing, large room and bath
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addison on Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.