We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Save
You added The Addison on Amelia Island to your Saves list
614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Walton Beach
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Escape to serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My spouse & I recently spent a delightful weekend at the Addison On Amelia Island. We arrived after dark, & were greeted at the door by our host, Bob. He showed us around the Inn, to our rooms, & gave us the basic rundown of the Inn. We were tired & didn't think we would venture out, but after getting settled in our room, decided to go for a walk. We quickly found the main street where there were eclectic shops, bookstores (two!), nightlife & restaurants. Our room at the Inn was very clean, bed very comfortable. The bed is a little high, no step stool to climb up into bed, so if you have knee problems or are other issues it could be a problem. Linens & decor luxurious, with a "Tommy Bahama" flair. Courtyard well kept, beautiful. Of course breakfast was amazing. They made a pineapple tart that almost had my spouse in tears because it tasted like the one from his childhood. Bob & Shannon arranged for a romantic carriage ride for us for the next morning. Bob even had a bag of carrots ready for us to give to Boomer, the star horse of Amelia Island. Thanks Bob! In the main part of the Inn, we found a nice selection of dvd's & took a couple back to our room. Fresh cookies & refreshments available in evenings, as well as fresh fruit. Our hosts were contentious about the dietary needs in our party, going the extra step to ensure the diabetic in our party had an equally spectacular breakfast as the other guests, without making a big deal about it. We have gotten so used to "settling" for whatever is on the menu, that this courtesy was very much noticed. If you need anything, our hosts were available to assist. There are special events on the Island, involving the B&B's. One I wish I could attend is the Christmas Cookie Tour that stops at each B&B, with the horse drawn carriages in use. Maybe next time!

Room Tip: Ask about bed height if you have knee, back or other mobility problem. Bed in our room was high, no...
See more room tips
Green Features: LOVED how Green this establish is. Recycle bins in use, locally sourced products on menu, & a whole host of other things they do. Being able to walk, bike, or horse carriage also helps contribute.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
567
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for the first time last week and it was outstanding. We arrived before the normal check in time and they made an extra effort to get us in our room early. Bob, the owner, was extremely helpful with sending emails prior our visit, recommending transportation, local restaurants and site seeing. The facility is beautiful and our room was the same. Happy hour was a great touch but was outdone by the incredible breakfast. The town is a short two blocks so no need to drive anywhere. This B&B is a must stay when you are in Fernandina Beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room over looking Ash with a private balcony and loved it.
See more room tips
Green Features: You have the option to get new sheets and towels daily. They also have recycle options in the room and on the grounds.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

A perfect spot to stay while visiting Fernandina and Amelia Island. Within walking distance to all of downtown and just a quick drive to the beach, this B&B offers all the comforts of home along with the pampering of a 5-Star hotel. Every day was a new, creative and delicious breakfast and happy hour was an intimate gathering with guests and our hosts for good wine or beer and great conversations and even some comic relief. Our room was clean and comfortable and although part of the building, it offered it's own private sanctuary with the deck area, view of the garden and separate seating area. Bob and Shannon made us feel comfortable and welcome and the entire staff was friendly and very helpful. 5-Stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Addison. We highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast. The rooms were beautiful & comfortable. Food was delicious. There was coffee available in the early morning if you like. In good weather you can walk to Centre Street.. Bob & Shannon were helpful with restaurant recommendations & reservations if needed. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Addison for one evening to celebrate my 40th birthday before headed to the Carolinas. We checked in late as we had experienced a puncture travelling from Ft Lauderdale, however, I did call out of courtesy twice to apologise and inform the owners of our whereabouts, we arrived about 20.30. We did not find our welcome to be as friendly as to be expected at all and our breakfast experience was quite awful! Whilst the room was very nicely decorated and met all hygiene expectations my husband describes this as the worse experience we have had as an interracial couple in over 12 years of visiting America.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STidball, Owner at The Addison on Amelia Island, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We understand that it is hard to appreciate the value of staying at our B&B when you only stay for one night and arrive after Happy Hour is already over. It doesn’t really give you a chance to appreciate the inn’s amenities and to experience our beautiful little town. I wish you would have said something at breakfast if you weren’t happy with the meal. We would have been happy to prepare something more to your liking. Your Room Tip is excellent advice for future guests. The larger rooms have much more space for people travelling with lots of luggage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a weekend at the Addison and had a fabulous time. Owners Bob and Shannon made everyone comfortable in their beautiful inn, which is a quick walk from the historic district. The breakfasts were AMAZING and complimentary appetizers, beer and wine are offered each night at the inn's happy hour on the back porch overlooking the garden and soothing fountain. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The website offers a photo and details of each room.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Addison recycles and has numerous green practices, including energy-efficient bulbs, environmentally friendly landscaping, the option for towel re-use and much more.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Addison. Shannon and Bob were a delight. Our room was very clean and well maintained. The bed was super comfortable. The decor was tasteful and the room had plenty of natural light. We especially enjoyed the social hour and looked forward to meeting up with the other guests. The breakfasts and appetizers served during the social hour were 5-Star quality. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addison on Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.