We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Upscale B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Addison on Amelia Island to your Saves list
The Addison on Amelia Island
614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sweet Summer Sale 15% Off
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Elegant, Upscale B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

First and foremost, we loved everyone of our the delectable breakfasts we had at the Addison! What we enjoyed also was the beauty of the inn itself.... so many times, you visit a B&B and it feels too Victorian and antiquated. The Addison feels fresh, modern, the decor is light and airy like it should be at the beach! Rooms feel light, clean, airy, breezy... not the dark heavy furnishings and feel that I have come to expect from a B&B.

Perfect location... you can walk everywhere!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
606
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My Wife and I had been looking for a place to spend a brief get away from the everyday ,just a couple of days .ie work ,kids and everyday stuff .Now that the kids are older son 22 daughter 16 .We looked at spots near by in Florida and decided on Amelia Island I had been there before my Wife had not .We found the Addison on Amelia and it was all and then some what we imagined from our trip advisor comments .Very nice clean and Bob and Shannon treated us like family .Well actually better.Take a brief bike ride to Fort Clinch and check it out pretty neat.Thanks go to the Addison staff for a very happy 23rd.

Room Tip: #3 is a great room so is #7
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycles ENERGY STAR kitchen appliances Education for guests on green practices ENERGY STAR guest room appliances Towel reuse program Temperature set to save energy
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first time in Amelia Island and the first time in a B&B. Both were wonderful and will definately go back. Amelia Island is great to relax and unwind and take a walk back into time. It is quaint and full of history without being one of those tourist traps with trinket shops galore. Bob and Shannon were wonderful hosts and knew so much about thet area. The rooms are all delightful and bright and airy. Scrumptious food at breakfast and both Bob and Shannon had great recommendations for dining and pleasure excursions. Will definately book again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 11. On the corner and not connected to any other rooms. Jacuzzi tub was very relaxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent four nights there in mid-September 2013. This was by far the best experience we have ever had at a B&B! Bob and Shannon were not only gracious hosts, but really seemed to enjoy making our stay an unforgettable experience. At the Addison everything they do is value added. From fresh flowers on the tables, a marvelous happy hour, a well stocked refrigerator, snacks, fresh fruit, best ever breakfasts, and comfy rooms--nothing was left to chance. There location is perfect and in walking distance to many wonderful restaurants, museums, and the waterfront. Amelia Island is a jewel and we explored every inch of it. A prefect vacation! John and Debbie F.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I took our first trip to Amelia Island to celebrate our first anniversary. We were lucky enough to stay at the Addision. It was one of the most amazing stays I have had. Bob, Shannon and Lee were nothing short of fabulous. Our rooms was beautiful, the breakfasts were exquisite. The social hours with other guests made the trip more memorable and we were able to share dining options with each other.
I would NEVER stay anywhere else while visiting. We can wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here during the Labor Day weekend. We had an incredible 3 days in Amelia. We had never stayed in a B&B before and We FELL IN LOVE with this experience, thanks to Bob & Shannon. The Bed was comfy, room was cozy, shower was clean and equipped, the courtyard was charming. The town was friendly. The community play house was crazy good. We dined at Joe's Bistro , Le Clos, Artes Pizza (Artes was being remodeled was still great) and all 3 were amazing. We walked thru the shops (walked every where we went) and found a treasure that has become a keepsake in our home. The happy hour meet and greet was fun and informative and and we found quick made friends at each setting.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #9. I believe this was one of the smaller rooms, No Bath tub, No balcony, and quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a four day marathon family reunion in Georgia, my husband and I stayed at the Addison for a quick respite before flying home. It was a very good decision! We were here less than 24 hours, but we were able to enjoy the innkeepers' gracious hospitality big time. They obtained reservations for us at a fabulous Spanish restaurant within walking distance of the inn, Espana. ((FYI - the paella was absolutely delicious!) Before dinner we had a wonderful time at the happy hour, and then were surprised to be invited to a wedding in the courtyard, officiated by Bob. How often does that happen?? I should point out that Bob and Shannon attended to all the wedding details, so it was obvious they can provide anything you need!! We were in Room 12, which was small but perfect for our quick visit. We enjoyed our wine at the little table and chairs on the balcony. The breakfast was totally over the top, but we managed to eat every bite before we had to head to the airport. We give the Addison four thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Addison on Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addison on Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.