We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look No Further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

Save Saved
You added The Addison on Amelia Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Addison on Amelia Island
614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sweet Summer Sale 15% Off
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Look No Further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As most people do, they read a review while waiting for the dreaded BUT…it was great, but…it was clean, but…. so let’s get that out of the way immediately. There are no BUT’S, this place is perfection. The Inn is charming and meticulously maintained, the enclosed gardens are beautifully landscaped, and the rooms are bright, modern and immaculately clean. They lack for nothing – you couldn't find anything wrong if you tried. Our hosts, Bob and Shannon, were down to earth and genuinely nice - the perfect Inn Keepers! Breakfasts were just wonderful – the food was delicious, plentiful, offered a good variety, and was nicely presented. Being setup on an outside veranda with all the greenery and flowers, it was a nice way to wake up and enjoy the morning. Drinks and snacks are available at all times plus Shannon’s homemade cookies were always in the jar! Happy Hour each evening was great bonus – good wine, appetizers and conversation; it was fun having the chance to chat with some of the other guests from all over the world. Bob could do stand-up and his knowledge of the island and suggestions about what to do and where to eat were right-on. There are so many great restaurants and things to do on the Island – most within walking distance. I would not hesitate one minute on choosing the Addison – treat yourself and make your trip to Amelia Island a great one by staying here. I hope my travels bring me back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    673
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
539
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The whole neighborhood is filled with old homes mostly restored and kept to high standards. The Addison is a perfect example having old world charm and modern conveniences making the stay very comfortable. The rooms are clean, the bed very comfortable and our jetted tub was huge (don't know if all rooms have one). Bob and Shannon go out of their way to please. Breakfasts are a real palate pleaser, some infused with their own grown herbs. They also offer other snacks like sodas, chips and nuts available any time. And the happy hour also has wonderful homemade treats as well. Getting to know other tenants is really fun. The location is just a short walk from all the downtown shops and restaurants. They offer bikes, beach chairs, towels and umbrellas for the asking. What a totally relaxing get away. We truly enjoyed our stay and can't say enough about Bob and Shannon.

Room Tip: Personally, I didn't want to be in the main house, not wanting to be in the mix of innkeeper dut...
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle cans and plastic and have compact fluorescent bulbs in all lighting fixtures. The courtyard is loaded with lush tropical greenery.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Addison just to get away for a few days. Bob and Shannon were great and we had a wonderful time. We will definately be back and would recommend the Addison to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. The Fenandina Beach / Amelia Island area is beautiful as is Clinch State Park. - Can't forget the unbelieveable breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed every part of our stay. We wanted to enjoy every moment so we came right at check in time. We were shown to our room by Lee, Bob and Shannon's daughter. We loved exploring the facility and our beautiful room. Our jacuzzi tub was certainly built for 2! The grounds were as gorgeous as the pictures. We stayed in room 12 upstairs overlooking the fountain and I don't think we ever had direct sun on our balcony. The huge oak trees in the courtyard shaded it perfectly and so we were able to really relax in the comfy wicker chairs outside our door. We went down for happy hour at 5 and had fun meeting other guests and the food was great. Each night guests were offered from a small selection of beer and wine. The first night we were served some bread spread with herbal cream cheese and bacon jam. Never have had bacon jam but I would love to eat that again! We expressed interest in the recipe and the next morning at breakfast, Shannon had kindly printed out the recipe for us! Our first evening we walked down a block to the historic district and just loved discovering all the shops of this adorable town. We ate at a cute Mexican place called Pablo's but had to share an entree because we were still pretty full from happy hour! Afterwards we still managed to visit one of the many dessert shops and had Ice cream before we strolled back to the Inn.
Our breakfast the next morning began with a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice and a glass of water. Then Bob, the innkeeper, brought out a chilled goblet layered fruit (mango, blackberries& blueberries) and lime yogurt, then topped with granola. It was delicious and we ate every bite. Then the main course was a French toast croissant and a small pitcher of blueberry/raspberry /pomegranate syrup was brought with it and plate had a garnish of 2 cherries, 3 raspberries. And we finished our meal as we did both mornings, with a cup of coffee as we sat relaxing on their beautiful verandah overlooking the fountain and lush courtyard.
We were so full that we ended up just eating a snack late in the afternoon to get us to the happy
hour, of fresh baked bread with
warm Brie. We met the new guests that had recently checked in and visited awhile before we headed out for our reservations at Espana for our last evening. We loved the restaurant choices all so close by and were sad to have only 2 nights. My husband is a handyman and can do lots of jobs around our own home and so he noticed how hard the owners worked at keeping the property in good condition. On the day we were there, Bob replaced door molding and a threshold on a room adjoining the main area in a response to comments made regarding noise level in that room. It's very clear that these people care about their customers comfort and make every effort to work at making it the best it can possibly be.
On our last morning we again had fresy squeezed juice and a great breakfast. That morning it was a chocolate raspberry muffin followed by a cantaloupe fizz drink, and then a fried egg, ham and provolone panini with rosemary potatoes with a garnish of spinach leaves and 2 half moon slices of tomatoes
artfully placed on the plate. I can only think if good and wonderful adjectives to describe The Addison on Amelia!
We enjoyed staying at this lovely inn and would love to return someday soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I hesitate to write this, b/c I want to be able to get a room next time I come to Fernandina! But I loved the Addison! It was the perfect place for me to enjoy a quiet weekend getaway and Bob and Shannon were wonderful hosts. Their advice & recommendations on restaurants and things to do were all right on the money, breakfasts were delicious & filling, happy hours were fun and I enjoyed meeting other guests, including some from my own home town! They also had everything I needed to enjoy my stay from beach towels to chairs to bicycles! Shannon even accommodated my dairy allergies by making my breakfast w/ almond milk instead of heavy cream one morning and it was absolutely delicious! I will definitely come back!

Green Features: I love that the hotel is green and they use local foods to prepare their delicious breakfasts and happy hours..
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It is truly a revitalizing experience to visit Fernandina Beach, and to stay at The Addison. Bob and Shannon make your stay so comfortable. The rooms are so lovely they're hard to leave. The breakfasts are filling enough, and the tastes so memorable, you don't need to eat again until dinner! And of course their signature happy hour is well worth the price of admission. Fellow guests become friends. And both Bob and Shannon have such great stories to tell about their previous lives before becoming innkeepers. It's hard to leave for dinner.
My husband and I are repeat offenders, as Bob likes to say, because The Addison is a place to cant wait to revisit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We celebrated our first year anniversary at the Addison. Bob and Shannon were very nice and very accommodating. It's location was easy to find. Our room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable and was as advertised. The food was hot and delicious. We will definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Addison on Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addison on Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.