We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Save
You added The Addison on Amelia Island to your Saves list
614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Night or 15% Off!
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Addison on Amelia over the Memorial Day Weekend and had a wonderful time. The location of the Addison is perfect. This is the ultimate Bed and Breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were fabulous. The attention to detail was phenomenal. Everything was clean, there were snacks and drinks available, and great homemade cookies 24/7. Happy hour was delightful with delicious treats and generously poured wine and beer. Bob and Shannon are gracious hosts always ready with a recommendation for whatever you may need. The fact that they supply all the beach equipment that you could want and bikes for touring the area is a huge plus. We especially enjoyed spending time on our balcony, in comfortable wicker chairs, reading, relaxing and enjoying the cooling ocean breeze. This is a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
562
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our first visit to the Addison and Fernandina Beach. What a truly wonderful and memorable stay and experience! We stay in b&b's whenever we can and the Addison is right at the top in our opinion! We had excellently prepared and delicious breakfasts and evening snacks! Bob and Shannon were such gracious and accommodating hosts and so friendly and enjoyable to talk with. They had so much information to share on dining and places to see and things to do. We plan to return when we visit again in Florida! Thank you Bob and Shannon!
Dennis and Janet G.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was the perfect place for our Manager's meeting with fourteen people. Located in the heart of Old Fernandina it is the perfect environment for a private business meeting away from distractions. All of the restaurants that we used for our lunches and dinners were within walking distance eliminating the need for arranging transportation. The service from the Tidball Family the Innkeepers) was superb. They handled the meeting room setup, breakfast, snacks during breaks and the most important thing Happy Hour. If given the chance we would hold all of our meetings here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Third time at the Addison. We just love it there. Cleanliness, great hosts, great gardens, etc. The breakfasts are just superb. Not one thing we don't like. We're already planning our next trip. Bob, Shannon, and Lee are just the best!!
Joe and Sandy K.

Room Tip: Any room will suit your fancy.
See more room tips
Green Features: Totally green inn from the sheets to the cleaning products.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast. The room was exceptionally clean and everything was provided that you could possibly need. Cold drinks were available in the main house. The breakfast was the biggest surprise. It was such a pleasure to be treated to such a wonderful meal! The bed was very comfortable and our stay was very quiet. I can't really comment on the happy hour, as neither of us drink wine, but the other guests seemed to be enjoying themselves. We stayed in room 15. It's one of their smaller rooms and I think next time I'd prefer something with a private balcony or a tub and maybe a little farther off of Ash. But, you really cannot go wrong with any of the rooms at the Addison and would stay in room 15 again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just enjoyed our fourth visit to Addison on Amelia. What a wonderful B&B. Easy location: short drive to the beach and easy walk to downtown and restaurants. THe rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We love the comfy chairs on the decks for coffee in the morning, cocktails in the evening or just for reading during the day. Bikes, beach chairs, beach towels, snacks and drinks are all available any time. Can't miss with this place!

Room Tip: The website has a map of the property and a description of each room. We've stayed in four rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton GA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I already loved the Addison before I even stayed there because they were so great with working with us with our reservations and schedule. We stayed in room 12 and it was heaven on earth. Huge king sized bed, amazing jetted tub that you always felt like you could swim in, everything you needed was there from robes and slippers to toiletries. The breakfast was mouthwatering. We had a peach, blueberry torte the first day followed by a breakfast burrito and eggs. It was the perfect mix of social and private and I can promise we will be going back. Often.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 and it was perfect for us, but definitely go online and look at all of the room...
See more room tips
Green Features: All of the toiletries were ego friendly and all of the food was local and homemade.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addison on Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.