We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing island stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Addison on Amelia Island to your Saves list
The Addison on Amelia Island
614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Night or 15% Off!
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lebanon, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Relaxing island stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The breakfasts were awesome and the accommodations were quite comfortable. Very welcoming. One of the first things that they asked was about any food allergies. this meant a lot to me since there are foods that I have sensitivities to. Happy Hour was a nice perk leading to conversation with the others staying at the B & B. Availability of soda, coffee and water was a nice touch also.

Room Tip: We loved Room #14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
558
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A spur of the moment Easter Weekend trip to Amelia Island was made very special by Bob and Shannon - the owners of The Addison on Amelia Island. From the moment we checked in we felt like we were old friends. The Happy Hour on Friday and Saturday night was fun with a great group of people, good wine and great appetizers..it was so relaxing. And what can I say about the breakfast in the morning - the best from the fresh squeezed OJ to the home made tarts, quiche and french toast you could have asked for anything better
We ate at Pete's 2nd Street Bisto and Le Clos and the food there was fantastic - I would highly recommend both.
The Addison had bikes for us which we took down to the Fort for a bit of history and exercise..great ride!
Do yourself a favor stay with Bob and Shannon on your next getaway and you will have a great time!
Bill & Jenn
St. John, FL

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I really cannot add anything to the countless positive posters before me, as all of them were spot on. We just came back from a weekend at the Addision, and it was Super Clean, had an excellent location, superb breakfast, accomodating and enertaining hosts, great bikes that are always available for guest use, and quality restaurants and the harbor all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room #5 is very quiet, and has no balcony, but it is in the upstairs of the main house and directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been to several B&B's in different cities but this is our favorite B&B. We loved the fact that the Innkeepers Bob and Shannon live on the property. They make you feel welcome from the minute you walk in the Addison. We loved everything about the Addison from the afternoon happy hours, delicous breakfast, and the comfortable beds. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 5 in the Main House is quiet and away from Ash Street. If you are a light sleeper, this is a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was the most beautiful and relaxing bed and breakfast! The bed was super comfy, the owners/staff were very nice, it was clean, and breakfast was delicious! They had bikes, movies, games, snacks, bath salts...you get the picture. Anything to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable! My husband said, he was as comfortable as staying with family- in a good way! The Addison was a fantastic treat!

Room Tip: Room 4 had a great tub and a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This B&B is a genuine rare gem. Spotless rooms, top-notch housekeeping and genuinely welcoming and warm innkeepers Bob and Shannon make your stay a pleasure. The breakfasts are extraordinarily delicious….no need for lunch! You can fall asleep to the pleasant drop of the fountain in the square and don’t miss the Happy Hour-- you are likely to meet a lively and interesting set of fellow guests. Bob is a wealth of information about sites and timetables and directions and all those annoying detailed questions that he has likely answered on thousand times by now. Shannon is a cook extraordinaire—a talent only eclipsed by her interior decorating abilities. I am a very picky person and I would stay there again in a nanosecond. Don’t miss it!

Room Tip: Our room (#6) is excellent if you have mobility problems. However, it is near the porch and if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg MD USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just returned from Amelia Island and six wonderful days at The Addison. While the description and testimonials on line influenced our decision to stay there, The Addison surpassed our expectations. Perfect is the adjective that describes our experience. The gourmet breakfasts that changed daily, the lovely room, the daily happy hour and the charming inn keepers were all part of our enjoyable stay. We extended our stay for one night before we sadly had to leave. We can't wait to return, and we will. Thank you Bob, Shannon and Lee.
Gary and Beverly

Room Tip: We requested and received a first floor room with a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Addison on Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addison on Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.