We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

Save Saved
You added The Addison on Amelia Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Addison on Amelia Island
614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sweet Summer Sale 15% Off
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gaithersburg MD USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just returned from Amelia Island and six wonderful days at The Addison. While the description and testimonials on line influenced our decision to stay there, The Addison surpassed our expectations. Perfect is the adjective that describes our experience. The gourmet breakfasts that changed daily, the lovely room, the daily happy hour and the charming inn keepers were all part of our enjoyable stay. We extended our stay for one night before we sadly had to leave. We can't wait to return, and we will. Thank you Bob, Shannon and Lee.
Gary and Beverly

Room Tip: We requested and received a first floor room with a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
539
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I needed a quiet getaway for a few days and had visited the Island many times in the past, however, always staying in a nearby hotel. I decided a B&B would best fit the stay this time and wow, did I find a gem! There is nothing about this gem being in the rough. It is truly polished and brilliant from the warm and kind owners, Bob and Shannon, to the fantastic staff. If you want to feel welcomed, pampered, and special on your excursion to this beautiful Island, this is the place to stay. Thank you for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Addison is truly special--it is a very well maintained, lovely, friendly place to spend a few days in darling Fernandina Beach. Bob and Shannon are excellent hosts and the afternoon happy hour and morning breakfasts are worth the visit alone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 14--it was a nice size, had a precious balcony overlooking the street and a huge s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I thank Bob and Shannon and Lee for the wonderful time we had at the inn. The breakfasts were so delicious. And we really enjoyed the afternoon happy hour! It was so nice to walk to everything, Still mentally on "island time". Hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our second time-and we will be back. The service is excellent, the rooms are charming, the staff is very welcoming. The location is very convenient. Very much worth visiting.
We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Addison for our babymoon!
Had a 1st floor room on the courtyard, so only 2 stairs to deal with as a very pregnant mom to be. Loved hearing the trickle of the fountain in the courtyard.
Breakfast every morning was fantastic - 1st day there was a strawberry rhubarb tart as the 1st course that was soooo good!
Hubby can't do caffeine but loves coffee, he even said the decaf coffee w/ breakfast was good & he is hard to please with the decaf.
There were always drinks & snacks available in the dining room.
Beach chairs & towels were provided & the beach is a 2 mile drive away.
All the restaurants & shops in "downtown" Fernandina are in walking distance.
Great relaxing place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

From the wonderfully appointed room to the linen table cloth covered tables the experience is truly first class. The food is delicious and the service is top rate. the hosts Bob and Shannon are both attentive and entertaining an extremely rare combination with B&B's.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Addison on Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addison on Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.