We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escaping Atlanta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Save
You added The Addison on Amelia Island to your Saves list
614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Escaping Atlanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Addison is truly special--it is a very well maintained, lovely, friendly place to spend a few days in darling Fernandina Beach. Bob and Shannon are excellent hosts and the afternoon happy hour and morning breakfasts are worth the visit alone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 14--it was a nice size, had a precious balcony overlooking the street and a huge s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
567
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I thank Bob and Shannon and Lee for the wonderful time we had at the inn. The breakfasts were so delicious. And we really enjoyed the afternoon happy hour! It was so nice to walk to everything, Still mentally on "island time". Hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our second time-and we will be back. The service is excellent, the rooms are charming, the staff is very welcoming. The location is very convenient. Very much worth visiting.
We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Addison for our babymoon!
Had a 1st floor room on the courtyard, so only 2 stairs to deal with as a very pregnant mom to be. Loved hearing the trickle of the fountain in the courtyard.
Breakfast every morning was fantastic - 1st day there was a strawberry rhubarb tart as the 1st course that was soooo good!
Hubby can't do caffeine but loves coffee, he even said the decaf coffee w/ breakfast was good & he is hard to please with the decaf.
There were always drinks & snacks available in the dining room.
Beach chairs & towels were provided & the beach is a 2 mile drive away.
All the restaurants & shops in "downtown" Fernandina are in walking distance.
Great relaxing place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

From the wonderfully appointed room to the linen table cloth covered tables the experience is truly first class. The food is delicious and the service is top rate. the hosts Bob and Shannon are both attentive and entertaining an extremely rare combination with B&B's.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Amelia Island and we found both the Island, the people and our 3-day stay at the Addison fantastic. Bob and Shannon were outstanding hosts, and met our every need. The breakfast each morning was gourmet fare, delicious and beautifully presented.
Our room was on the second floor, overlooking the interior courtyard, was very peaceful and well appointed. Shopping and restuarants were a short walk from the front door. We enjoyed the harbor cruise and several excellent restuarants that Bob and Shannon recommended. We also enjoyed the cocktail hour and the many other guess that we met.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to Amelia Island during my nursing school spring break for Christmas. He told me that he tried to get a room at the Ritz Carlton for the following week but they were booked due to a car show. So instead he picked The Addison. I was a little bummed because we have stayed at B&B's in St. Augustine and I would say that they were average but definitely nothing like the reputation of the Ritz. Well, the Addison BLEW ME AWAY! Besides being historical, adorable,and very clean the owners Bob, Shannon, and their daughter Lee's hospitality was top notch and met all of our requests during our stay. We had room number 3 in the main house. My husband picked it because of the over sized porch. Unfortunately, it was so cold that weekend we never went out there. Luckily there was a one touch timed gas fireplace in our room, which was a great surprise, that we used all weekend! The king size bed and pillows gave us such a cozy, relaxing, and comfortable sleep. We snuggled every night in that big bed while watching a movie that they provided. I stuffed myself every morning with their wonderful, amazing, gourmet breakfast and fresh squeezed orange juice. I was very impressed that I only told them once upon check in that I was a vegetarian and the 3 breakfasts' we had they remembered every time! That has never happened before. We went to every happy hour and enjoyed beer, wine, and snacks while meeting the other guests and hearing their travel adventure stories. Bob was very educational about the island and had great recommendations. We went biking along the beach one day hoping to see the Ritz. It is so far down on the beach that it almost feels isolated. I was beyond happy that our accommodations turned out the way they did because I was so impressed with The Addison! The owners set up all our dinner reservations plus a horse and carriage ride with the prettiest horse. They provided us with a bag of carrots for us to feed the horse and napkins to wash our hands! The location of The Addison is perfect! Right in the heart of the historical downtown and walking distance to the restaurants, shops, and night life. My parents have never experienced a B&B and I called them the day we left and said we are taking you to The Addison! We absolutely loved our time there and will not pick another place to stay when we come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addison on Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.