We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing on Amelia Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Save
You added The Addison on Amelia Island to your Saves list
614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elora, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing on Amelia Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I had a blast at The Addison......although I did gain a couple of pounds on their eye-popping, scrumptious breakfasts!! We strolled around historic Fernandina Beach, took bike rides on the cruiser bikes available right at the inn, walked the Main Beach and even took a Segway tour at Fort Clinch State Park. We were only there 3 nights, so we didn't get to do as much as we'd hoped. Bob and Shannon are wonderful hosts! Very attentive to your needs and always willing to help you find a restaurant, or assist with special requirements you may have. if their yummy breakfast is too much for you, you can ask for smaller fare. Even though it was February, the gardens are still beautiful with pansies blooming in front.

Room Tip: Room 8 had a huge jacuzzi tub for relaxing after a long bike ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
567
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had never been to a bed and breakfast before and always wanted to stay at one. As it had many 5 star reviews, we decided to give The Addison a try, and also have our small wedding there. We are very happy with our choice. As soon as we walked through the door we were greeted with a warm smile. Bob and Shannon, the owners, made us feel right at home. They were very accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed.

We stayed in the well known honeymoon suite on the second floor of the historic main house. It was very clean. The sheets were soft (smelled clean and new too) and the bed was super comfy. The room was a nice size with tall ceilings and a cozy fireplace. The bathroom was roomy, clean and recently updated with tub and separate glass enclosed shower. The balcony ran the entire length of the home and faced Ash Street. What a beautiful view! The historic homes, the shady trees with singing birds and cute squirrels which you could view from a chaise or rocking chair. I loved it! The main house offers a parlor right by the front door where visitors and guests gathered daily, and had happy hour in front of the fireplace. There is a dining room in the back for when the weather is not cooperating, or in the courtyard for a wonderful and tranquil experience outside.

Bob officiated our wedding in the courtyard, and it was a lovely ceremony. The courtyard was magnificent, with paver stone walkways. There was also this beautiful 3 tier running fountain in the center surrounded by lush greenery. Perfect place for wedding pictures.

The breakfast was homemade and absolutely delicious! Nice variety. At one point, I just happen to mention to Shannon my favorite dessert was chocolate mousse, so on our last day there, she made some for us garnished with ripe raspberries. I was in heaven!

We plan on returning for our anniversary. Amelia Island is a beautiful historic town, idyllic, and The Addison was the icing on the cake. If you are looking for a Bed and Breakfast, we would highly recommend anyone stay at least once at The Addison. If you are into quaint, cozy with an old world charm, you just might be hooked.

Thank you to Shannon and Bob for making our stay a wonderful experience. It is one we will never forget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, SC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just spent a lovely 3-day weekend at the Addison and enjoyed the location and amenities of this beautiful property. The owners, Bob and Shannon, are great hosts and truly epitomize the concept of B&Bs. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well-appointed. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the historic downtown and its beautiful Victorian homes, historic buildings, great restaurants, and (walking the other way), the beach. The owners/hosts will go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Let them happily make your dinner reservations -- All of their suggestions were great. The gourmet breakfasts and lively happy hours just add to the experience of staying at this Inn. We highly recommend staying here on your trip to Amelia Island.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My overall comment is that the attention to detail is outstanding. There are lots of little extra's that make this a pleasant stay. Plus, the location is a block off of the charming downtown and only a mile to the public beach and state park. Breakfast on the patio is quite pleasant. And, what a beautifully presented, hearty breakfast you are served. Fresh squeezed OJ, good coffee and two courses, often with dessert first and then a main course (although heavy on sweet carbs and light on protein.)

The rooms are charming but a tight squeeze. We didn't unpack because the drawers were filled with extra towels and blankets. The bathroom was roomy but again, no place to lay out my travel bag except the floor or top of the toilet.

Aside from that one blemish to the place, they have really thought of everything to make your stay complete. There are bikes to borrow, a lovely happy hour each night, fresh baked cookies and coffee at all times. The linens and towels are top quality. Everyone is happy and accommodating.

Room Tip: We could hear footsteps in the upstairs room it was occupied. Not terrible but you might want to sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Such an attractive, beautifully decorated Inn! Immaculate and soooo comfortable--from the beds to the wicker rocker outside our room. Breakfasts are delicious and servings are enormous. Freshly squeezed orange juice, casseroles, stuffed French toast and many other freshly made, tasty treats are served on the porch in the courtyard. Appetizers and cookies "made from scratch" and drinks, snacks, candy, fruit, etc are all included in your room price and available throughout the day. We loved riding the bikes all over the island. The Inn is located in the historic district and walking to restaurants, shops and waterfront is easy. The innkeepers make you feel so welcome and are always gracious about stopping what they're doing to answer your questions. No problem with parking. Well worth the price!

Room Tip: Loved the upstairs courtyard room with porch seating
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Upon rolling into Fernandina Beach I was instantly captivated by the beautifully kept historic houses. The Addison House being one of them. Some of the charm of this place came from the original hardwood floors from the 1800's, the gorgeous courtyard, and the excellent landscaping and some of the charm came from the Innkeepers themselves. I will be choosing this place again instead of going with a standard chain hotel. You can't beat the food! Coming back in a couple months!

Room Tip: I stayed in room number 2 of the old main house. There are pictures on the website. loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallaha
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Price is $240-$260 a night. Rooms are nice, but not nearly as nice as comparable inns we have stayed at for the same price. Breakfast is OK. Heavy on sweets and carbs. OJ and grapefruit juice from the bottle - and not even good quality. Limited parking. Bob, one of the innkeepers is very nice.

Room Tip: Shop around. If you stay there, ask for a second story room away from Ash Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STidball, Owner at The Addison on Amelia Island, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our room rates range from $185.00 to $290.00 per night and our main priority is to make your stay at the Addison an amazing experience. We have ample free and safe street-parking right in front of our inn as well as a driveway for guests to use. We squeeze fresh, beautiful oranges every day to offer the best orange juice you can get, and for those who don’t like orange juice, we offer a selection of cranberry, grapefruit, and apple juice. Our delicious breakfasts consist of fresh-baked goods, fruit, and a main entrée – alternating daily between savory and sweet. We always offer lighter choices and will customize your breakfast to meet any dietary requirements, food allergies, or anything that you don’t like to eat. We sincerely hope that you will try us again and take advantage of all of the complimentary extras that we offer like bicycles, beach gear, all-day baked goods, snacks, and beverages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addison on Amelia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.