We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   39 Beach Lagoon, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Aspen, Colorado, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

While a little off the beaten track it's well worth visiting. We stayed in a villa called Turtle Cove which is about a mile from the main lodge, which I'm sure would turn many off but we loved the separation. For example the pools and beach at the main hotel were crowded and kids everywhere versus at the villa it was quiet and remote even though beach and pool were still available.

But on the negative side, support for the remote villas from the mother ship, main Omni hotel, seemed limited at best while a separate villa support staff or even phone number did not seem to exist. For example when we checked in our unit was completely open to the neighboring units assuming by housekeeping but while I just closed and locked the doors to the neighboring unit, that could have caused issues. Also while each Villa unit appeared to have separate wireless Internet there was NO information available on the name of the wireless site for my unit, or the access password and when I did finally obtain it was a full 15 char wep code, really necessary?

But the morning sunrise over the ocean this am more than made up for everything!

Room Tip: Do you want main concrete hotel or villas?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    410
    155
    75
    36
See reviews for
423
560
24
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I visited the resort for a conference.

Check in was quick. While my room was a further jaunt from the lobby, it was clean, had a nice patio and view of the ocean. Internet via wi-fi worked well.

Pool was lovely.

Service was excellent during my stay. Be sure to sign up with their loyalty program for some added perks.

Our conference provided transportation so I didn't need a car. If visiting the island again, I'd rent a car.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel staff were excellent. The food on the property is nothing to look forward to. I am not a cook, but I could have cooked the same poor tasting as in their nicer restaurant. Plus the service at all the restaurants except the Sunrise restaurant were poor. We returned our food once as two of us did not get what we ordered. When they brought it back 30 minutes later--it was wrong again. We just put our hands in the air and just ate what they gave us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Amelia_Island, Manager at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback but I'm sorry to hear you did not receive excellent service in our restaurants or enjoy your food. I have shared your experience with our food and beverage management for review. We hope you'll dine with us again as usually our culinary outlets receive great accolades and we would like another chance to wow you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Omni Vacation: Check in was very complicated and we did not get the room we were promised by email and confirmation #. Our friends, who came to the resort based on our recommendation of Omni, were also given different rooms than they were promised. This took several hours as rooms were not ready til almost 5 when check in is at 3pm. Our friends had to sit in their car with 4 children and a car full of groceries for 2 hours until matters were resolved. We were also told by other guests that they had many problems checking in. I just don't understand why we were sent an email describing our room and given a confirmation # if that is not what is given when checking in. When making reservations, we were told everything else is reserved but it was so easily moved when we were bumped to different rooms. The first thing we did was eat in the ocean side restaurant and the chicken in my salad was under cooked, to which they offered us a free dessert. When we got back to our room we had to call maintenance for a broken screen door out into the patio, a broken lamp, and NO hot water when showering. Which was one of two days without hot water.not fun for taking showers. The second day of our stay, someone from housekeeping walked into our room without knocking and said we were thought to be checking out that day. Luckily, we were all dressed. Later in the day I had to ask for cleaning service to be done to the room and for clean towels since it was not done the day before. The hotel delivered 2 bottles of Arnold Palmer and offered us a free cabana for the day. It rained for 2 days, which can not be helped, but on the second day, I asked the man at the cabanas to have 4 chairs And a table. We only had 2 chairs and no table the whole time we got to spend in the cabana which was not long because of the rain. Also, when we got back to the hotel, the game room was closed for painting, which left the kids with nothing to do since it was raining. With a 50-70% chance of rain for 2 days, I would think it was taken into consideration before closing. The third day of our trip, I had asked for a clean robe to be delivered to our room. We were supposed to have 2 robes in the room upon arrival but only had one. I did get the robe dirty, but asked for a new one which I never got and had to ask 2 times again the next day before the were delivered. During our stay, when cleaning service did come to our room, they didn't arrive until after 4:30pm. We were in the room taking showers and trying to get ready for evening plans. Since the cleaning was not done earlier when we were not in the room, we had to ask them to come back several times. Since most of them do not speak or understand English, it was difficult to communicate. During the week, I used the in room coffee/tea and mugs and packs of coffee and tea, which were never replaced. I had called the front desk at 8:15am to deliver some more to my room, which they did not and had to ask, yet again, when I stopped by the front desk on my way to the beach. Among other things, the cashier at the Amelia Shop did not seem to know if they sold gift cards at the resort an seemed bothered to be talking at all. I had to got to the front desk in the lobby 3 different times to get one because no one knew where they were or how to sell one to me. Then, when the kids were playing a balloon game on deck which had all the children trying to pop each other's balloons, 2 of the resort workers popped our kids balloons to end the game. When our kids asked why they did that, they were told "somebody has to win", which was decided for them and left our kids disappointed. I do not want anything from this hotel and I certainly do not want a gift bag full of crackers and cans of soda upon my departure. As an Omni select guest,I simply expected better service and to get the value of what we paid for. I never raised my voice, got impatient, acted out,or demanded things when I had to ask several times for things over and over again. I do not blame each individual for their wrong doings but expect everyone working at the resort to be on the same page and to know the resort and the procedures at hand, which did not seem to be the case at all. Maybe the resort should have a training day for workers so that everyone knows what the protocol is for customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Amelia_Island, Manager at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I apologize you had so many issues during your stay with us, your experience was not up to our standards and it is unacceptable. Your review has been shared with our management team for review with our staff and each issues will be addressed in training sessions for the particular departments. We do hope you'll return to visit us again in the future to allow us the opportunity to provide you the customer service we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemingsburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

While we were very impressed by The Plantation and all it had to offer, especially the fabulous Sunrise Cafe's breakfast that concierge Tom recommended was a must eat every morning. It was $20 for adults and $10 for children, but it was worth every single dime. The only glitch we had in our impromptu stay was the fact that the hotel captures large amounts of "daily incidental fees", so be sure you have plenty on your credit card to cover what they deem necessary. The beautiful beach access and kid friendly activities at the pool are so much fun and very relaxing. The only thing I wasn't impressed by was the $30 beach rental fees that were prorated when after 2 hours in the storm brewed in for the day. It was the same for the boogie board rental, which while it wasn't their fault, they weren't servicing us to our shade. If you want to be feel special and feel very secure on vacation, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Convention "only" oriented. Finding food in main hotel is a nightmare. No restaurant near main area, bar food is horrible. A bagel in room is $15.00++. Shampoo being refilled?? Golf courses lucky to rate a 6 on a scale of 10. Disjointed, drive all over the Plantation between holes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Amelia_Island, Manager at Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay at the Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort. Unfortunately, it seems as though we did not deliver the same exceptional experience to you that we try to provide to all of our guests. We apologize if you had difficulty finding our Oceanside Restaurant, which is located directly in front of the hotel lobby. And it seems as though you might have been overcharged for your bagel, which is listed on our room service menu at $5. If you could send a copy of your receipt, we'd be more than happy to refund the difference. Please contact me directly at cboek@omnihotels.com and I will be sure to sort this out for you. And we do apologize for our golf course inconveniencing you in any way. Being a Links style golf course, the drives between holes will generally be longer because of the architectural layout. Typical Links style golf will start you close to the clubhouse and continue to move you further away from the central location until you actually finish your round. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay SC, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wife and I took our 1 and 3 year old kids on family vacation to this resort. It was hard finding a place that was both family friendly and luxurious, but the Omni Amelia Island was exactly what we were looking for. It is an expansive resort with all sorts of things to do: nature excursions, golf, pools, beach, tennis, spa, gym...etc. Pool service was good and pools were clean and well planned out (adult pool and family pools). Activities were fun and well executed (night time movies by the pool, smores on beach, etc...). Sunrise breakfast buffest was EXCELLENT. A buffet that costs $20 would normally get a pass from me, but this was truly worth it (small kids eat free), we actually went every morning. We did have some hiccups with our A/C not working great and hot water in the shower not always available. Despite those issues, we had a great time. Perfect vacation if you want pool/beach/family fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort

Address: 39 Beach Lagoon, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the tip of a barrier island just off the Northeast Florida coast, this AAA Four Diamond oceanfront resort features luxurious ocean view accommodations, family-friendly activities, grand on-site meeting spaces, and endless dining options. It's the perfect backdrop for your family vacation, romantic getaway, corporate event, or destination wedding. Whether you choose one of our deluxe oceanfront rooms, a contemporary premier guest room, or a completely indulgent luxury hotel suite, you will enjoy unparalleled ocean views and spacious accommodations. Relax on the largest multi-tiered pool deck in Northeast Florida, which features an adults-only infinity edge pool, a 10,000 square foot family-friendly Splash pool, a Splash Park water playground for the kids, two hot tubs, and oversized fire pits. Stroll down 3.5 miles of pristine beach or spend an afternoon kayaking and paddleboarding through Amelia Island's preserved marshlands, just a few of the many activities available during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Hotel Amelia Island
Hotel Amelia Island
Resort Amelia Island
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.