We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   39 Beach Lagoon, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at an oceanfront Sandcastle villa that was beautiful. The food at the Omni restaurants was excellent. The service from all the Omni employees was first class.....all were most considerate and well trained. Overall, this operation gets very high marks.

Joan & Sam P

Room Tip: Be sure to try breakfast at the Sunrise Cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    410
    155
    75
    36
See reviews for
424
560
24
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in one of the villas at Shipwatch. We had an ocean view 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit. It was very nicely decorated, had a private pool and close beach access. The views were unbelievable. It was only a 5-10 minute walk (although hilly) to the main hotel where there were two nice pools. Our unit was nicely decorated, and the six of us had plenty of space. A few improvement areas were:

* There was a huge patio, but only chairs for two people which didn't make sense for a unit of this size
* There was no wifi, only a wired internet connection. We expected this type of room to have wifi.

The resort is huge and has a lot of great spots to see. We rented a golf cart to drive around the resort and it was well worth it. Our only complaint about the resort was relative to the beach. The hotel charges for all of the chairs/umbrellas on the beach. Considering the amount we paid per night AND the $40/night additional resort fee we thought this was excessive.

Overall we had a great experience, but hope to see some improvements the next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited the Omni Amelia Island during 4th of July week for a family vacation. Overall, we had a great time. Liked the activities available for the holiday, and the fireworks were great and right onsite.

Nice beach and GREAT pools. My toddler especially enjoyed the fountain area and that she had so much room to walk around in the family pool.

Food - overall food was good, though we did have some issues with the 4th of July buffet. Items ran out, and the burgers were very undercooked. Loved the breakfast buffet, food by the pool, and Natural Slice. Just wish we had an opportunity to try more places.

Drinks - Everything was delicious. Being 7 months pregnant, I didn't get to try anything fun, but the rest of my family liked theirs. I thought the non alcoholic frozen drinks by the pool were outrageously priced, and I would have gotten a LOT more if they were like $2 less. The alcoholic drinks and especially the beer was extremely reasonable for a resort.

Service - There was a slight mix-up at check in, and one employee was particularly helpful when trying to sort out our room. She was even able to get my parents in the room next to us, which was great. Bartenders by pool were great. We did have to call 5 separate times to get a pack and play for my daughter, which was disappointing.

Overall - Beautiful property, and we are definitely thinking of coming back when our girls are a bit older!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A fantastic place to go! We went without kids to celebrate our 15 th wedding anniversary. We will never forget it. From the moment we walked in the lobby until the minute we left, it was an incredible stay. Very friendly staff and wonderful rooms with gorgeous views. The pool was awesome! Although we didn't bring our children, it looked to be very child friendly with lot of activities for them. We will be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our first visit back since renovation. The complex has been luxuriously updated to include new conference center. Disappointed that shopping options at the resort have decreased but this is an excellent upscale family and business destination in an attractive community.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Overall resort was amazing, kids loved the pools, adults loved the serenity pool, the saturday night smores were awesome. We especially loved walking everywhere, and the restaurants at the the shops were great.

Looking forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: Stay at the villas at beach wood, its a 1 minute walk to the main hotel where all the pools and beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The staff was excellent. Kim at the front desk was engaging and very helpful. Jack and Tara at Amelia Wheels were very personable and fun. Great view from the room. Dining available in multiple places, activities available for additional charges. Off on it's own, don't expect to just leave for a quick visit and return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort

Address: 39 Beach Lagoon, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the tip of a barrier island just off the Northeast Florida coast, this AAA Four Diamond oceanfront resort features luxurious ocean view accommodations, family-friendly activities, grand on-site meeting spaces, and endless dining options. It's the perfect backdrop for your family vacation, romantic getaway, corporate event, or destination wedding. Whether you choose one of our deluxe oceanfront rooms, a contemporary premier guest room, or a completely indulgent luxury hotel suite, you will enjoy unparalleled ocean views and spacious accommodations. Relax on the largest multi-tiered pool deck in Northeast Florida, which features an adults-only infinity edge pool, a 10,000 square foot family-friendly Splash pool, a Splash Park water playground for the kids, two hot tubs, and oversized fire pits. Stroll down 3.5 miles of pristine beach or spend an afternoon kayaking and paddleboarding through Amelia Island's preserved marshlands, just a few of the many activities available during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Hotel Amelia Island
Hotel Amelia Island
Resort Amelia Island
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort Fernandina Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.