We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed this Italian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
302 Centre Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-0806
904-206-4311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“enjoyed this Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I were vacationing at Amelia Island...we have been several times. This is the first time we had dinner at Ciao Bistro. The service was very good!! Even though it was very busy we still received excellent service. The food was very good and the atmosphere relaxed and fun.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    100
    44
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlevoix
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go early to this popular place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Knowing how busy Ciao can get, we made a 6:00 reservation for Sat. Night. It was definitely the best time, because we had our choice of tables, & when we left, there was a wait for tables. We enjoyed sitting outdoors in the enclosed porch, people watching. It wasn't too noisy, as opposed to the very loud dining room! Our Caprese Salad was ok, but tomatoes were not ripe. The balsamic vinegar & olive oil really helped, along with delicious rolls. We both had excellent entres, that we liked a lot! I had fresh salmon with cous cous salad, & my husband's pizza was great, with an ultra thin crust. The house wine is overpriced @ $8.00/glass, & not that good. Their new facility is very nice & much bigger than the Yulee location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overall a huge disappointment.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had an 8pm reservation, got there at 7:45 and weren't seated until 8:30...after repeatedly checking in and being told "be patient" and "we've had a lot of walk ins tonight". Once we were seated it took 15 minutes to get drinks and we had to get the waitress' attention to place an order for an appetizer and meals. The bread that they serve is obviously heat and serve from the freezer, not bad but nothing special. Four people in our party ordered the PAPPARDELLE AI FRUTTI DI MARE which is described as having a white wine sauce and was served instead with a marinara, overcooked pasta and shrimp. At this point we asked to speak to the owner and his response was that the menu had changed...if that is the case than you need to change your actual menu. On top of this, all of the food came out lukewarm, while the shrimp, scallops, and mussels were overcooked. This is a shame, we were customers before they made the move to downtown from Yulee. In Yulee the food was fresh and hot, great personal service. Now they are a Fernandina Beach tourist trap.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We tried this new addition to downtown Fernandina Beach. Wow! I knew it would be great from the start as the bread was marvelous! (I always think a good restaurant should have good bread!) This yummy whole grain roll with the dipping oil was perfect. We split a salad which was very fresh and delightful. I can't remember which one, but it was not the Caesar. My husband had the seafood in a delicious broth, and I had the lasagna. We both left happy. We will return here on our next trip to Fernandina.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We went here one night on vacation and had great expectations. We sat down and it was a nice atmosphere on the street of downtown and the inside decor was nice. Our whole meal was ordinary in every sense of the word, nothing special. We had hoped for more. Service was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.