We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
302 Centre Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-0806
904-206-4311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
St. Marys, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband took me for my birthday to Ciao. It has amazing Italian food. A great wine list, service and a personal touch that is appreciated. We will be back :D

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    104
    50
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice area, well below avg food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had dinner at Ciao Bistro last night. Primarily as a result of TA reviews, concierge at the Omni and how cool the downtown area was. Atomosphere was nice and lively. Server was great, although a bit stuffy (I appreciate high end service, but at times it so didn't match the product that it just added to it being out of place).

House salad- nice combination of veggies, but the house dressing was greasy and plain.
Ceasar salad- plain and boring as well. Ceasar should be a bold and flavorfull dressing, it was not.
The fried mozzerala was okay, but the side of some sort of lime green pesto mayo was strange.
The real disapointment came with mains and desserts.
Mains- Mushroom tortelini- cold in middle, alfredo sauce on top was from a jar (gross!).
Side of Italian sausage in red sauce was good and became our main meal.
Lasagna- was good. Nothing special but was above average.
Fresh catch and veggies, Cobi with grilled shrimp with mixed broccoli, squash, zuccini. All where gray and oily. The color of both dishes was totally unaccaptable. We picked from each dish. The overall taste of it was "okay", nothing off or bad, but just simply NOT good. The waiter did not ask what we thought of the food (so we did not offer it up, I never send things back and only give feedback if asked), asked if we wanted it boxed up (we said simple no), cleared our dishes and I think knew we weren't happen but did not want to confront it. We ordered two desserts to split. Terimasu (sp?) which was proclaimed as homemade and a lemon zest. Lemon was very good. The Terimasu was terrible. Tasted like cafeteria pudding made sloppily in an individual pudding cup. The lady fingers had been frozen and thawed into a water mess in the middle. Again, two bites taken from the food and the waiter happily scooped it up and brought us our check.
Paid and left... on the way out we passed the owner, hanging with some locals (appeared to have been drinking and was a bit load). Some people may find an ancented owner hanging with the guests charming, but I did not. Especially when someone was in the lobby (as we left) giving the waiters a piece of their mind (we did not catch exactly what was happening but the customer was hot and was defused by our waiter who asked him to have the conversation privately). Customer stormed out and up the street. Moments later the owner came running into the street barking at us (assuming we had just dressed down his staff). The waitress called him back, saying that was not the right person. Never an apology to us or oh I am sorry for yelling at you, etc... It was a pure mess. As we turned the corner to leave in our car, the kitchen staff was breaking down and the back ally was a mess. Stay away from this dump. It is a great location, a good idea and terrible execution.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outrageous food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had been to Ciaos many times at their old location and always enjoyed the atmosphere and food. Although the restaurant was crowded, the service was wonderful and the food was delicious. The shrimp scampi was distinctive and wonderful. Some of the others ordered the specials. Everyone was extremely happy with their choices. The service was excellent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Another chance coming.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Our experience wasn't great but good enough to give this restaurant another chance. It was very noisy as there was not an empty table, but we actually had a hard time hearing each other. Our server was nice but acted somewhat overwhelmed with the full house.

The antipasto plate was delicious with a wonderful selection of meats, cheeses, peppers and olives. The plate was advertised for two, but was more than enough for the three is us to share.

Our entrées were good, not great. One was the evening special - a shrimp salad with pesto dressing and fresh sliced avocado. The greens were fresh and crisp, the grilled shrimp flavorful and dressing light and tasty but the avocado slices were underripe, hard and tasteless. If the server had come back to check on us, we would have pointed this out but by the time she returned to our table, the other entrées were finished.

I was surprised to find out that only one pasta dish has 'house made' pasta - the pappardelle pasta with seafood but it was ordered and was an excellent dish.

The veal piccata was our 3rd entrée and was tender and flavorful served with steamed vegetables that were seasoned perfectly.

We didn't order desert as we were quite frustrated with our server by this point.

Again, these are problems that can be corrected and we will certainly give Ciao a chance to do so.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great new place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Ciao is a new addition to the main st. of ferny beach..the covered porch and just enough lighting for outdoor eating was intriguing enough to lure us in..(the restaurant that used to be there seemed dark and uninviting). we were not very hungry, so an appetizer, and creative super-thin-crusted pizza was just enough...nice selection, doesn't try to offer every type of italian dish like some restauarants that 'over-menu'...wait staff was knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, didn't hover......will definitely return...oh, and there was nice, soft, unobtrusive music (not live) that was most pleasant for a background....nice experience overall!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.