We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“retirement dinner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
302 Centre Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-0806
904-206-4311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“retirement dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was treating a couple that had just retired to a special dinner and picked Ciao since it was their favorite italian resturant . They mostly ate off island, I thought it would be nice in this new location. I put my name on the list at 6oclock after 30 min I checked with boy he said not yet 30more. We were sitting out in porch area and were watching as couples were coming in after and being seated before. I found that strange since you can't make reservations und 8 people. The owner was seating all the people he knew before others and the poor boy at the door was frustrated ,he didn"t have an answer after an 1 1/2 hrs about my table . Some people were leaving while we still waited at 7;30 we left after a very expensive bottle of wine, and no dinner. Very poor managing and this will turn away alot of regular customers. There should be reservations taken to avoid this awful seating problem. Can't rate the food never had any.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    301
    98
    43
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Dinner finally arrived after 1 hour and 10 minute wait. Special was not as described. Owner offered free dessert as a condolence but then charged $11 for the two coffees that came with dessert! Waiter was frustrated and unable to solve any issues on his own.
There are many good places to eat in historic Fernandina Beach and I will never set foot in this place again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Mr. Luca, the owner, catered personally to the bank President who showed up and had no time for others who wanted to compliment him on his restaurant, which I thought was rude. Food was great and wait staff was excellent and pricing was good for the meal. Get there early.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

First time eating at Ciao since Luca moved restaurant to the downtown Fernandjna area. Still great food and great atmosphere. And it still feels like a small family restaurant. Well done!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No Vampires”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

really good food, full of garlic and exactly as ordered, service was attentive but not overbearing, we will be back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.