We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could'nt rate the food because we were passed over repetedly and never got to eat.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
302 Centre Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-0806
904-206-4311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I could'nt rate the food because we were passed over repetedly and never got to eat.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Just another "Johnny Come Lately" that will take even more of the charm out of the historical district by being worried about the masses instead of taking care of the people that live locally and support them. Gave our name at the front, ordered a drink, and watched three other tables be seated and never were even spoken to. Good luck because evidently others had greener money and would be gone quicker.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    100
    44
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect family dinner for Christmas Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We relied on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Excellent service, great food! Good for vegetarians with lots of salad and pasta options. Family-friendly. Slightly formal and more expensive than some other options, but well worth it for our special occasion. Huge portions left us too full for dessert. Homemade pasta was superb. Pesto cream sauce, amazing. The thinnest crust pizza ever and excellent!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Superb and some very creative upscale Italian creations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The REAL test for a good (Italian) restaurant is the CROWD willing to wait to be seated because the restaurant is so popular that there are no empty tables to "just walk in and be seated" at 7PM on a Sunday night! Welcome to Ciao Bistro! I'm not sure WHY Pompeo's failed to prosper in this prime location, but Ciao Bistro has relocated to this site and has kept it Italian... fine Italian! In our party of four, two had chicken parmesan, one had the eggplant parmesan... deemed very tasty. I decided to have the "chicken ciao" which was an excellent red wine reduction with sausage, onion, mushrooms & succulent tender chicken breast! The side I chose was a delightful eggplant saute that was a daily special. Good choices... I'll be going back next visit to Amelia Island for the "chicken ciao" no doubt!
According to our carriage guide, Luigi's had closed & when Pompeo's folded, that left the downtown historic area without an Italian fare offering... except that Ciao Bistro relocated downtown after a few years in a different Fernandina Beach location. It might also be noted that Ciao Bistro is owned by a chef who decided to open HIS OWN PLACE after being chef at the Ritz-Carleton resort in Fernandina Beach! No surprise that a former Ritz-Carleton chef runs a fine dining restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our second visit one year later”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We like to visit Fernandina Beach for vacation about once a year. Last year we really enjoyed our meal at the old Ciao Bistro when it was out in a strip mall and we were really looking forward to another great meal. We were not disappointed. It was better than last year. We really enjoyed the new location downtown close to everything. We were told that they had just moved in the last 3 weeks and you would have never know it. Everything was running smoothly in the clean and cozy dining area. The service was great and the food delicious. We are already looking forward to our next trip and another great meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner for two.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service. We sat at a table in the bar area, which actually proved to be quieter and more intimate than the crowded formal dining area. Food was delicious and moderately priced for a special night out. Server gave us the right amount of attention. Only restaurant in area that was packed on a Sunday night.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;