We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit one year later” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
302 Centre Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-0806
904-206-4311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our second visit one year later”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We like to visit Fernandina Beach for vacation about once a year. Last year we really enjoyed our meal at the old Ciao Bistro when it was out in a strip mall and we were really looking forward to another great meal. We were not disappointed. It was better than last year. We really enjoyed the new location downtown close to everything. We were told that they had just moved in the last 3 weeks and you would have never know it. Everything was running smoothly in the clean and cozy dining area. The service was great and the food delicious. We are already looking forward to our next trip and another great meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    307
    98
    44
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Romantic dinner for two.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service. We sat at a table in the bar area, which actually proved to be quieter and more intimate than the crowded formal dining area. Food was delicious and moderately priced for a special night out. Server gave us the right amount of attention. Only restaurant in area that was packed on a Sunday night.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Lovely new location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

First visit to the new location. Clean, cozy and very nice. Went without reservations on a Thursday evening and were seated promptly. Busy but not packed. Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The wine list was very limited and our choice was ok. The meal made up for anything missing with the wine. The three of us each had something different and all were very pleased. Tiramisu was fabulous! Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Dine like family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our party of nine arrived on time, reservation confirmed, and we waited 15 minutes.
It was like visiting a relative who just wasn't that punctual I guess. We truly didn't mind as Ciao is a bustling yet cozy place where everyone is friendly, like your favorite Aunt's kitchen.

The owner came out to greet us, speaking Italian to the eldest member of our party who was our local, Italian connection. He had to speak up a bit since the place is a bit noisy with conversations commingling around us. We were seated soon enough and bottles of wine, reasonably priced were on the table with some bread.

The menu featured the expected salads, pasta dishes and appetizers. We had calamari for the table. It was good, not great. Many of us chose the special, a red snapper with shrimp in tomato sauce. Again, good, not superb. What makes this restaurant so popular is the service, the individual attention, the easy pace, the family-like atmosphere.

One of our party was celebrating a birthday and the owner poured little glasses of moscato di asti for the table and served the birthday girl a wedge of cheesecake with candle. We all sang happy birthday to her delight.

All in all a delightful meal with good food, good company and a bill which won't break the bank (about 50 dollars a person with wine and tip). I can recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our first visit but we came with friends who had dined at Ciao at this new location the night before and at the previous location several times, needless to say it was as good as advertised and we were very satisfied with our meals.we were seated about 45 minutes past our reservation time but this was o.k. As it gave us some time for some good conversation with our friends.the place was packed but the service was very good and our food arrived promptly.The calamari appetizer was EXCELLENT!!.if you are in the mood for Italian I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.