We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine like family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
302 Centre Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-0806
904-206-4311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Savannah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Dine like family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our party of nine arrived on time, reservation confirmed, and we waited 15 minutes.
It was like visiting a relative who just wasn't that punctual I guess. We truly didn't mind as Ciao is a bustling yet cozy place where everyone is friendly, like your favorite Aunt's kitchen.

The owner came out to greet us, speaking Italian to the eldest member of our party who was our local, Italian connection. He had to speak up a bit since the place is a bit noisy with conversations commingling around us. We were seated soon enough and bottles of wine, reasonably priced were on the table with some bread.

The menu featured the expected salads, pasta dishes and appetizers. We had calamari for the table. It was good, not great. Many of us chose the special, a red snapper with shrimp in tomato sauce. Again, good, not superb. What makes this restaurant so popular is the service, the individual attention, the easy pace, the family-like atmosphere.

One of our party was celebrating a birthday and the owner poured little glasses of moscato di asti for the table and served the birthday girl a wedge of cheesecake with candle. We all sang happy birthday to her delight.

All in all a delightful meal with good food, good company and a bill which won't break the bank (about 50 dollars a person with wine and tip). I can recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    303
    98
    44
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our first visit but we came with friends who had dined at Ciao at this new location the night before and at the previous location several times, needless to say it was as good as advertised and we were very satisfied with our meals.we were seated about 45 minutes past our reservation time but this was o.k. As it gave us some time for some good conversation with our friends.the place was packed but the service was very good and our food arrived promptly.The calamari appetizer was EXCELLENT!!.if you are in the mood for Italian I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Qestionable if I'd Go Back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Seated in "bar" for dinner: people gathered next to table witing to be seated and I felt as though we were in a cafareria with all the noise. The Chicken Marsala chicken was not the best.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“great food, hurried service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived 7 on a Wed. with a reservation. We were seated promptly.
Impressive menu. The chef/owner came by to greet us. Nice touch.
No full bar so we would have anticipated more choices of wine by the glass. There was only one special but the food was excellent and the atmosphere sort of NYC hustle and bustle.
The major drawback is that we felt rushed from the outset. A dinner with an appetizer, main course and dessert with wine shouldn't be over in an hour. And my pet peeve, being given the check without asking.
Also...while they serve cappuccino and espresso...no decaffeinated version.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty and Fun Italian Bistro on Centre Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ciao is a nice Italian bistro with a pleasant atmosphere and a fun owner that goes above and beyond to help ensure a positive dining experience. Luca likes to greet each guest at the front door and welcome them home to "his place." The recent expansion of Ciao has given him and his staff the opportunity to expand the menu, the bar offerings, the seating capacity, etc. The new location is an improvement from the Yulee strip mall. It allows for strolling downtown before or after dining and also provides a comfortable place to wait if there is not a table readily available. My favorites on the new expanded menu include the thin crust pizzas, spaghetti and meatballs, the beet salad, the veal chop and the sausage with pasta entree. The tiramisu is a great way to finish off the meal. There is also an expanded wine list with more choices for both whites and reds. It has been busy with the new opening, but, we think it is worth the wait. We have been there twice in the last few weeks and only had to wait 5-10 minutes for a table. Ciao is defintely worth a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.