We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Qestionable if I'd Go Back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
302 Centre Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-0806
904-206-4311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Hilliard, FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Qestionable if I'd Go Back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Seated in "bar" for dinner: people gathered next to table witing to be seated and I felt as though we were in a cafareria with all the noise. The Chicken Marsala chicken was not the best.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    306
    98
    44
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“great food, hurried service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived 7 on a Wed. with a reservation. We were seated promptly.
Impressive menu. The chef/owner came by to greet us. Nice touch.
No full bar so we would have anticipated more choices of wine by the glass. There was only one special but the food was excellent and the atmosphere sort of NYC hustle and bustle.
The major drawback is that we felt rushed from the outset. A dinner with an appetizer, main course and dessert with wine shouldn't be over in an hour. And my pet peeve, being given the check without asking.
Also...while they serve cappuccino and espresso...no decaffeinated version.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty and Fun Italian Bistro on Centre Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ciao is a nice Italian bistro with a pleasant atmosphere and a fun owner that goes above and beyond to help ensure a positive dining experience. Luca likes to greet each guest at the front door and welcome them home to "his place." The recent expansion of Ciao has given him and his staff the opportunity to expand the menu, the bar offerings, the seating capacity, etc. The new location is an improvement from the Yulee strip mall. It allows for strolling downtown before or after dining and also provides a comfortable place to wait if there is not a table readily available. My favorites on the new expanded menu include the thin crust pizzas, spaghetti and meatballs, the beet salad, the veal chop and the sausage with pasta entree. The tiramisu is a great way to finish off the meal. There is also an expanded wine list with more choices for both whites and reds. It has been busy with the new opening, but, we think it is worth the wait. We have been there twice in the last few weeks and only had to wait 5-10 minutes for a table. Ciao is defintely worth a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bigger and Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been to Ciao 3 times at the new location and we think Luca has hit a home run!! (unlike MRossJax, I will at least spell the restaurant name correctly). We were regulars at the Yulee location and now are following Luca to his new location on Centre Street. In the newly remodeld surroundings and with a bigger and better kitchen, he is putting out great tasting food. The new menu offers some nice choices for all apetite sizes and with ample variety. Luca gives you the choice to dive into a hearty veal chop or steak or make many options and just sample smaller items and graze. His staff is consistently friendly and attentive...Talia and Piper are awesome!! It is always great to see a local business succesfully grow and be able to continue to offer a quality product to visitors and local regulars alike. Our favorites include the thin crust pizzas, lasagne, roasted beet salad, meatballs, the mussels, and the chicken Ciao. He added many nice wines to the wine list with choices from Italy, Spain, California, and more. Ciao is definitley worth the trip!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A gem in northeast Florida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Best pizza ever! I'm not a fan of crust so the paper thin crust of Ciao's pizza was just right for me. We were in a hurry to make a movie but wanted to try Ciao as 2 people had recommended it. We were not disappointed!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.