We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
302 Centre Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-0806
+1 904-206-4311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I tried Ciao based on all the reviews. Very very good with great service and the owner was so nice

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    128
    62
    14
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very slow service & tiny portions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went to Ciao Bistro based on all the positive TA reviews. We called ahead 6:00 PM for a table at 6:30 and was told they were not taking reservations but was that we should't any trouble getting a table. We got to the restaurant and told the wait would be around 10 minutes. 30+ minutes later - no table. After few inqueries, we were seated.

We ordered the roasted peppers as appeitzers. The serving was tiny! There were probably ten or so pieces of small peppers. Then it got worse. 40+ minutes later, our entree was no where in sight. Talk about a long wait. While we sat there waiting, our water glass was never filled. I had the clams tossed in olive oil. The clams were decent, but again, the serving size was way small. I mean, you go for Italian food to plunk down in front of a heaping bowl of food. Not tapa portion meals. The pasta had a good texture but too salty. My husband had the eggplant Parmesan which was also decent.

Overall, a very disappointing experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Service and Delicious Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went to this restaurant based on the TA reviews and our love of Italian food. When we saw the outside, we were apprehensive, since it's just a tiny place in a strip mall, but we were not disappointed. My husband is Italian/German and loves veal, which was delicious. The owner, Luca, not only seated us, but stopped by our table to inquire about our meal. It's obvious that he cares about food quality and service, as evidenced by the crowd mid-week (reservations suggested). We have traveled all over Italy and I think his food is authentic (he is from Italy, after all). Of course, there's no scenic view of the Amalfi coast or an extensive wine selection, but the food is tasty. I'm happy to hear he's moving on-island to a bigger place or I'm afraid we wouldn't be able to eat there again with all the glowing reviews, as well as the reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband, I and a couple of friends went to dinner here because the other write ups sounded wonderful. We were not disappointed. Service was right on que. The food was delicious and we ate so much and still had food left to bring home. The antipasto was delicious. Ciao will be moving to the downtown area which will be great as they need the room. It is always packed there. You have to try it, trust me it's wonderful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach Fl
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best pasta around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Store front, very popular Italian food. Not like being in Italy but pretty good.Great bread starts the meal with a good selection od main offerings Wine list is okay and everything is fairly priced. Owner is always around and the staff is great.. Be sure to call ahead

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.