We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
302 Centre Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-0806
904-206-4311
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I tried Ciao based on all the reviews. Very very good with great service and the owner was so nice

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    287
    88
    39
    8
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very slow service & tiny portions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went to Ciao Bistro based on all the positive TA reviews. We called ahead 6:00 PM for a table at 6:30 and was told they were not taking reservations but was that we should't any trouble getting a table. We got to the restaurant and told the wait would be around 10 minutes. 30+ minutes later - no table. After few inqueries, we were seated.

We ordered the roasted peppers as appeitzers. The serving was tiny! There were probably ten or so pieces of small peppers. Then it got worse. 40+ minutes later, our entree was no where in sight. Talk about a long wait. While we sat there waiting, our water glass was never filled. I had the clams tossed in olive oil. The clams were decent, but again, the serving size was way small. I mean, you go for Italian food to plunk down in front of a heaping bowl of food. Not tapa portion meals. The pasta had a good texture but too salty. My husband had the eggplant Parmesan which was also decent.

Overall, a very disappointing experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, PA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Great Service and Delicious Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went to this restaurant based on the TA reviews and our love of Italian food. When we saw the outside, we were apprehensive, since it's just a tiny place in a strip mall, but we were not disappointed. My husband is Italian/German and loves veal, which was delicious. The owner, Luca, not only seated us, but stopped by our table to inquire about our meal. It's obvious that he cares about food quality and service, as evidenced by the crowd mid-week (reservations suggested). We have traveled all over Italy and I think his food is authentic (he is from Italy, after all). Of course, there's no scenic view of the Amalfi coast or an extensive wine selection, but the food is tasty. I'm happy to hear he's moving on-island to a bigger place or I'm afraid we wouldn't be able to eat there again with all the glowing reviews, as well as the reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband, I and a couple of friends went to dinner here because the other write ups sounded wonderful. We were not disappointed. Service was right on que. The food was delicious and we ate so much and still had food left to bring home. The antipasto was delicious. Ciao will be moving to the downtown area which will be great as they need the room. It is always packed there. You have to try it, trust me it's wonderful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach Fl
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best pasta around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Store front, very popular Italian food. Not like being in Italy but pretty good.Great bread starts the meal with a good selection od main offerings Wine list is okay and everything is fairly priced. Owner is always around and the staff is great.. Be sure to call ahead

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.