We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
302 Centre Street, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-0806
904-206-4311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Greeted upon arrival and immediately shown our table( reservations helpful)- not overly crowed that evening. I had a veal dish, my wife had the lasagna. Neither of us cared for mine but both liked her lasagna. Service was very plesent and timely. Key lime pie was just ok( comparing to other restaurants). This is the top rated place and our first stop. Makes me a little worried about the rest of our trip. You should be your own judge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    105
    51
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Little Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went to Ciao Bistro while honeymooning on Amelia Island. We were greeted at the door by the owner, Luca. He was very warm and pleasant. We were seated right away, but the restaurant filled up very quickly. Service was great and staff was very knowledgable and friendly. Plan on returning to Amelia Island and would definitely head back to Ciao Bistro. I hear they are moving to the historic area of Amelia Island and I'm sure they will be even busier. Looking forward to returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Sorry Tripadvisor but this one Disappoints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Typical Italian American fare.Mozzarella in carozza not fully cooked.Two pasta dishes, swimming in way too much sauce, were just ok. Wine list not exciting. Staff friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Bustling Bistro - Bellisimo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed Ciao Bistro. It is busy with locals who come in to a kiss on the cheek from the owner and a warm welcome from the staff. The food is somewhat classic Italian American fare - eggplant and veal parmigiana, lasagna, and fettucine alfredo The house wine by the glass was good, although the chianti was a bit warm. Room temperature for red means cellar temperature, not room temperature in Florida in August (90 deg F).

We thoroughly enjoyed dinner, right down to the parting Lambrusco the owner brought over.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Earned it's #1 ranking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in the historic part of Amelia Island and read great things about Ciao Bistro. I wasn't sure I wanted to drive over the bridge, but so glad I did. I have to say Ciao Bistro was amazing! One of the best Italian dinners I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.