We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachside casual dining at it's finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Bottoms Beach Bar and Grill

Sandy Bottoms Beach Bar and Grill
2910 Atlantic Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
+1 904-310-6904
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Amelia Island's only TRUE restaurant that is located directly on the beach and has oceanfront dining where you can put your toes in the sand. There is a large covered patio right on the the beach, tables in the sand, and the Ocean Oasis Beach Bar that has the only unobstructed view of the beach and ocean on the island. There is live entertainment on the patio almost every night, featuring everything from Reggae to original music by some of the best local artists in town.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beachside casual dining at it's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have had lunch here twice this week. A great place to have a beer while watching the waves crash on the beach. Burgers and sandwiches comprise the bulk of the menu. Fried oysters are wonderful. The saute of lobster and scrimp far exceeded expectations. Nothing better than walking in off of the beach for a beer and lunch. Laid back feel.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    115
    78
    24
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sand under your feet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

For my birthday, my family and I went to Sandy Bottoms for dinner. Since this place is located right on Fernandina Beach, I was wanting to be seated outside. Fortunately there was a table available that was outside and literally on the beach. They have deck seating and tables placed on the beach as well. This was the best seat in the house. Where else can you go wade in the water while you're waiting for your dinner to arrive?

Our waitress, Lauren, was very nice. She was attentive and friendly. She was helpful in explaining their specials, and her recommendations were spot on. My family said the oysters they had were the best they had ever eaten.

We went on a Tuesday night. I believe Wednesday-Friday (and maybe Saturday) they have live music, but just hearing the sound of the crashing waves was enough music to my ears.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food and great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stopped at this place at the "end of the road" on A1A on Amelia Island. It's a large restaurant with a stage that makes me think it's probably a happenin' place on weekends. However, we were there at 5:00 on a weekday, so we sat outside on the deck that couldn't be any closer to the edge of the ocean. We had a mahi sandwich and a grouper sandwich with well-seasoned black beans and rice. They were all very good. We especially liked the dill tarter sauce. We also ordered Frickles, which are fried dill pickles. They were some of the best we've had! We were bothered by flies, but that's to be expected when you choose to eat outside. It's a great ocean side, casual place to eat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando de Noronha, PE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful staff and scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We Had Seafood gumbo and oysters with an appetizer of crab cakes. darren make our experience that much more pleasant and enjoyable the view was spectacular and I will definitely be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Decent food @ a decent price for Amelia Island. Right on the beach so it's a relaxed atmosphere not fine dining. Has a nice bar & patio. Great for to-go also. All the staff we encountered were pleasant which is always a plus!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Bottoms Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Sandy Bottoms Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Bottoms Beach Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.