We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Totch's Everglades Island Airboat Tours

Totch's Everglades Island Airboat Tours
929 Dupont Street, PO Box 540, Everglades City, FL 34139
+1 239-695-2333
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit our newly renovated property and take a ride on one of our fully renovated airboats! Come take an Airboat ride with us through the Winding Mangrove creeks (Walking trees) and Bays deep into the Everglades, where the Alligators live. Our Boat Captains have lived in the Everglades all their lives and know the Glades and the History like the back of their hands. Watch for all kinds of Wildlife you never know what you might see. We are Family owned and Operated and employ the finest USCG licensed Captains for you safe and memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you!
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We took the 90 minute tour, including the visit to Totch island. Although the website results in a feeling that many animal varieties will be seen, the only animals we saw were a group of (tame?) raccoons... The house of Totch also is rather different than the one shown on the website: the current island house clearly has been rebuilt in the past few years and consequently does not resemble the actual house the writer Totch stayed in.
Last point of criticism is that of the 90 minutes tour approximately 30 minutes are lost by going through an urban area with houses not very specific for the Everglades: I would therefore recommend to choose an alternative airboat company who is located outside Everglades city.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    34
    15
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CAPE MAY COURT HOUSE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Airboating in south FLorida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have gone airboating out of Totch's Everglades Island Airboat Tours this year and last year taking different family members on each trip. On both trips my family and I have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It's a blast zipping through the mangroves but I especially liked seeing all the wildlife. At one point on the tour we were taken to a spot where a dozen (maybe more) raccoons come out of the mangroves to greet us. Apparently they have been doing this for 20 yrs and as the airboat captain says, it's not the raccoons who are trained. LOL We spent several minutes photographing the normally nocturnal creatures but because of their diet which is tied to the tides they have adapted to be awake during the day. It doesn't hurt to have airboats full of people stop by to give you a drink and some treats to make it worth your while as well. LOL All in all the hour or one and a half hour trip is a lot fun and very educational. Oh, and don't miss the photo op with the baby alligator back at the dock. Check out the website for additional information and coupons. http://www.airboateverglades.com/totchisland.htm

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Airboat Ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Booked at the last minute and our party of four was able to get on. Our guide was very knowledgable and a lot of fun. Hearing protection was available to purchase for $1.00 which is a ripoff. The EAR foam earplugs cost less than $0.2 and should have been included in the ticket price.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nothing special”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

if you are thinking about a everglades tour, you might want to research some thing else. This was a ride through mangroves. Nothing more, nothing less. We took the hour ride and all we did was see some racoons and zip through some mangroves. Our guide did not talk to us at all. We were expecting Everglades...grasslands, animals, etc. We did not receive this at all. It is a expensive air boat ride with no history or chance of seeing animals. I am not exaggerating at all. Please research before you go....we thought we did but obviously not enough.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Air boat tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

It was our first time on air boat. So its hard to compare. We paid for the full tour to go see Totch Browns island. It was something i was excited to see because i knew some of the history. I wished the captain would have shared more insight as to the outlaw side of the area. The bay was extremely rough but we where warned ahead of time. The trip through the Mangroves was fun especially when the captain got on throttle. It was something I wanted off the bucket list. It was fun but I don't think I would pay that much to do it again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Totch's Everglades Island Airboat Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Totch's Everglades Island Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Totch's Everglades Island Airboat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.