We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome sunsets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Coast Visitor Center

Gulf Coast Visitor Center
Rte. 29, Everglades City, FL
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Elyria, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Lots of interesting information here. Great place to watch the sunset. Rangers are helpful and informative. We took the boat tour that goes out of this location which was a lot of fun. Saw lots of birds and dolphins.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    18
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice displays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Some nice nature displays, interactive things for kids, hurricane tracking - pretty much what one expects from a National Park Center. Nice that you can book boat tours right there as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Take the 9:30 a.m. Friday birding trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We took the 9:30 a.m. Friday birding trip on the boat (it only goes out once a week) and were accompanied by two park rangers who helped us spot and identify birds. On our trip, we say a pod of about 5 or 6 dolphins as well as a group of about 8 ospreys dive bombing for fish.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Edge of the Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staying nearby at Marco Island, this was the nearest entrance to Everglades National Park, at the farthest northwest corner of the park, whose main headquarters/entrance is nearer Miami (as we were told, "where the people are"!). Not knowing what was there, or what to expect, we actually drove past the entrance sign and continued on to one of the little islands (Chokoloskee). Back at the Vistor Center, we found a small but interesting display of some sea life information; we heard a park ranger speak about the history of the area (Calusa Indians); and signed up for a 90-minute boat tour of the mangrove islands and out to the Gulf.........actually quite interesting to us. We saw a variety of birds and dolphins.........always fun to watch! Though this was not a fabulous outing, it was fine with us..........a short drive from Marco Island or Naples, and a Florida experience that did not include the beach or shopping! If you appreciate the chance to spend any time in one of our great National Parks it's worth a stop. Hope we can visit again via the main entrance and visitor areas. This ranks somewhere between average and very good depending on your preferences. The little towns of Everglade City and Chokoloskee give you a view of "old Florida".

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent boat tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We took two boat tours through the National Park Visitor's Center--10,000 islands and Mangrove Wildnerness. The Mangrove Wilderness tour was particularly wonderful with a fantastic tour guide Ted who took six of us on a safari boat tour of the mangrove forest. We spotted over 50 birds and alligators and learned about the Everglades original inhabitants.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Coast Visitor Center also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gulf Coast Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Coast Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.