We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Coast Visitor Center

Gulf Coast Visitor Center
Rte. 29, Everglades City, FL
Improve this listing
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
Attraction details
1 review
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We paid for a tandem kayaking and after two trips to the place they couldn't delivered the service paid for. Service was terrible and staff rude!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    16
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The ranger program dec 23 was well presented, informative and enjoyable.
We took the boat tour out through the 10000 islands and were somewhat disappointed. We saw white pelicans and dolphins. We were led to believe that we would see manatees and rosate spoonbills. All the other birdlife we saw could be viewed from the road. We understand that you can't make wildlife appear on command, but think that if you have not seen them for over a week that this should be disclosed.
The scenery was magnificent.
We thought that there would be rangers leading the tour. It is a private enterprise with minimal information. I think we should have been informed that this was a private company. We thought we were supporting a National Park.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
157 attraction reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
398 helpful votes 398 helpful votes
“You Can Skip This One”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Free admission; free restrooms; lots of parking. Lots of people here seeming to be waiting to go on boat rides. Honestly, if you are in the Everglades for more than a day, take an airboat ride from one of the highly rated firms on the EAST end of the Tamiami Trail (50 miles east). They get you into the real glades faster and better and funner than these prop motor boats. Not much else here.... souvenir shop, small ranger/interpretative office, big parking lot.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good source of basic info”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We got maps here and hints on hikes and kayak routes, in addition to some info on the ecology of the area, all very helpful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Take a boat ride. Nearby, some of the best seafood in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I drove down here from my vacation place in Fort Myers Beach on November 6th, 2012. This is the Everglades National Park Service location for the 10000 Islands area on the Gulf of Mexico. Somewhat more than an hour's drive on I-75, arriving here you get the feeling you are in the outback. I liked it because it was uncrowded and personal. The most popular tourist attractions must be somewhere else!

Everglades City is a fishing town. You can purchase a ride on a boat here, advertized 1 hour plus for about 26 bucks. There is also a souvenir shop on the first level (I got an excellent tee shirt with the 10000 islands depicted in Google maps form), or go upstairs and visit with the Park Ranger and see the few exhibits.

On this random day there was a family with kids from New Jersey, a friendly German couple, and later there arrived some folks from NC who wanted to go on a nature ride on a boat. I signed up for the same boat.

One leaves every half hour or on the hour. We got on the 'Shark'. The weather was perfect for a boat ride out there on the gulf; about 75 F and sunny. We got to see lots of birds, but since there was some talk about sea turtles, dolphins, and manatees (there were even manatee area warning signs in the dredged channel), we saw nothing but birds. Bad timing I guess for wildlife but great weather.

This boat was what I would call a catamaran, Yamaha twin 200's, awnings overhead, but it is not a fishing boat. Leave your gear behind! Cameras only.

In the town of Everglades City there are seafood restaurants with food worth dying, freshest in the world. Please see my other reviews of Everglades City and Fort Myers Beach.

There is a lot of free stuff to do around here. If you are a large family, costs per person can get out of hand. So do your homework and you will find a cost effective nature experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Coast Visitor Center also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gulf Coast Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Coast Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.