We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rod and Gun Club

Rod and Gun Club
200 Riverside Dr., Everglades City, Everglades City, FL 34139
239/695-2101
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Historic and interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Rod and Gun Club is an historic lodge in Everglades City so it is fun to see inside. There are lots of stuffed animals on the walls and dark paneled wood. Feels like stepping back in time. The food was adequate but nothing special, and it was not cheap. Eat there if you are more concerned about the atmosphere than the food.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    46
    46
    35
    40
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun day at Rod and Gun Club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I visited the Rod and Gun Club with my family on December 29,2013. I found the place to be a treasure of historical interest. We had a great lunch and a very pleasant waitress named Virgina. I will most definitely return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Sub-par food, but come anyway”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Two stars for the food, but come here any way. The history and ambiance is worth the trip. The setting alongside the inlet is very atmospheric. But, holy cow our oysters had been frozen and when fried turned to mush. Everything in our lunches was sub-standard. Even the cole slaw was oddly wrong .... too sweet and not enough cabbage (not even sure how one could do this). Maybe the dinner menu is better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, NL
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Bad Christmas dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had no choice as this was the only restaurant in Everglades City that was open on Christmas day. The two of us ordered two starters and two main courses. Two starters and one main course arrived all at the same time. These three all looked the same accompanied by exactly the same salad and french fries, we had to find out by tasting if we had fish, chicken or crocodile. The 4th main course never arrived, lucky enough. One of the dishes (crocodile) was unbearable salted. Not a Christmas dinner to remember!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The decor was from the 1940s, literally. It looked like it seriously had not been touched for 70 years. Dust was everywhere, it was absolutely despicable. The food was mediocre at best. I say mediocre because the breading was not too bad, however, it was too bad that the breading and extremely large amount of salt covered the actual food. I can see why they covered it.The actual food was terrible. Our waitress could not even hear a single word we said. It was not like the place was loud considering we were the only ones in the restaurant. She also kept putting her hands in our glass and touching the ice with her hands when refilling our drinks. Which is simply just gross, whether they were even clean or not. Overall, the decor, food, and staff were horrendous. At least you know where to go though if you want someone never to come back

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod and Gun Club also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rod and Gun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rod and Gun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.