We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida at its Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rod and Gun Club

Rod and Gun Club
200 Riverside Dr., Everglades City, Everglades City, FL 34139
239/695-2101
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Joplin, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old Florida at its Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Historic Rod and Gun Club holds a very special place in my heart since my great-grandfather had been a member in the early 1900's. It is a time capsule of what it must have been like to live, hunt and fish in South Florida, which at that time, was virtually an unexplored frontier. The animal wall mounts, the antiques, the photographs (Ernest Hemingway, Teddy Roosevelt, and others) were fascinating. The dark, wood-paneled walls and period decor with the high ceilings and tropical style fans add to the history and atmosphere of the place. There is so much wonderful, original architecture remaining in Everglades City that we really did not want to leave. We ended up staying in one of the little cottages that the Club makes available. Night in the Everglades with all of the sounds, the moonlight on the canals and waterways, and a glass of fine bourbon . . . it just does not get any better!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    49
    38
    41
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surf and Turf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I moved to the keys in the 60's with my family dad was in the Navy and was transferred to Boca Chica NAS. His best calling in life was to be sent there he became a charter boat captain and was know as Capt. Crabby from building and pulling stone crab pots. I have only had my mom make us Fried lobster before I had it at the the Rod and Gun club. It was something that was like going home. The restaurant faces the water and you would not believe the view of the sunset on the porch that is screened in and the pool is running being you. The pool is enclosed in screen with natural coral as the water fall. Wish I was there now. Don't forget the Blessing of the Stone Crab Boats on Oct 5th. Season starts on the 15th SEE YOU THEN. Please save my room.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Discusting expensive food in a lovly U”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Disgusting and expensive in a lovely setting. Takes 45 frustrating minutes and orders are delivered one at he time 15 minutes apart.Order a drink at the bar and get out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely Old Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Have eaten lunch here a number of times on our way to the Clyde Butcher Gallery & Everglades National Park. Always enjoy a Grouper Ruben sandwich which is outstanding. Not sure about the rest of the food, but the Grouper Ruben is highly recommended. Coming here is like stepping back in time... beautiful old building, friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go for just the view...not the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Unfortunately this place has a better view than it does food. We have been here many times. The quality of food and service is just not dependable. However the view is great and our guests are always impressed with the location which is very historic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod and Gun Club also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rod and Gun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rod and Gun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.