We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rod and Gun Club

Rod and Gun Club
200 Riverside Dr., Everglades City, Everglades City, FL 34139
239/695-2101
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Monroe, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The food was great and it was nice to sit outisde on the screened in porch. It was a very pleasant lunch

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    57
    49
    53
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prospect, KY
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Neat place to walk through but don't eat here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for lunch at this unique historical location. It was neat to see. We ordered food and got the smoked fish appetizer quickly. But then waited 45 minutes more and still no more food. This was the norm the day we were here. We finally got and order of onion rings and they were cold! We threw $20 on the table and left.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A swamp classic. Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Taxidermy, 70s decor, poolside dining, great seafood. Good key lime pie. A swamp classic. Service is a little slow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldron, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a unique kind of place. Lots of history - be sure to check it out. Waitress had a lot of character and I've heard they all do. It was fun and the food was good. My husband had the grouper sandwich and said it was excellent - also the strawberry shortcake was almost like homemade and from my husband that is quite a compliment. Key lime pie was good too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Historic, comfortable, fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was told that I had to eat at the Rod and Gun Club when I went to Everglades City. So I did. Entering the lobby took me back 100 years to an old time elegance. I am told presidents have stayed here.

Then, we entered the veranda where we ate overlooking the river. The meal was amazing...blackened grouper that tasted like it had just been caught. And key lime pie for desert. Coupled with a mean margarita made it an excellent meal with a relaxed setting....too bad we had to come home eventually.

One caution.....no credit cards used here....cash only. Perhaps yet another reminder of how things used to be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod and Gun Club also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rod and Gun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rod and Gun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.