We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Kayak Company

Everglades Kayak Company
801 South Copeland Avenue, Everglades City, FL 34139
239 262 6149
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Everglades City and directly across from Everglades National Park, this rental and tour location offers easy access to the beautiful Halfway Creek. The bottom of the Turner River is also accessible from this location.We have a total of 5 water locations plus a full service retail store
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“peaceful visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

we went out for half a day gentle kayaking. we booked for three hours. gentle pace but some level of fitness required. we were unlucky amd didnt see much else other than birds but im sure that was an exception. mangrove swaps were amazing and our guide was charming knowledgable and patient with us as novices. insect repellant is a must and visit the toilet before you set off.
A really good day but expect to get a little bit dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“3 day/2 night everglades kayak trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My brother and I wanted to do a camping and kayak trip at the same time while getting to see the everglades. Our trip was out of Everglades city and mostly comprised of kayaking in mangrove channels and the Gulf of Mexico. Our guide was Brandon Gunderson. The food was probably the most surprising part of the trip as Brandon could cook up some very flavorful dinners. During our trip we had lunch on the white sand beaches of islands comprised of mangrove and palm trees. Forty five minutes into the trip we were seeing dolphins and sea turtles and mullets flying out of the water three feet into the air. The first night we slept on a wooden platform above the water in the mangrove channel.
The most memorable moments were kayaking through what felt like a tunnel of mangrove trees, paddling with dolphins and sea turtles and camping on Pavilion Key. The mangrove tree tunnel was amazing as the water was shallow and the paddling was exciting as it was a race against the tides. The mangroves covered the us with shade from the sun and made us feel as if we were engulfed in the environment. During our second day we paddled out of the mangroves and into the Gulf towards our second night stay on Pavilion Key. During that paddle we saw approx sixteen dolphins at once. They were all around us and stayed with us for almost an hour as we made our way towards our destination. Once at Pavilion Key we were able to relax and enjoy the island environment. The wildlife was amazing. From horseshoe crabs, lizards and migratory bird species on the beach to conchs, crabs, sea cucumbers, sea anemones in the mud flats during low tide it was a nature lovers dream. There were many species of birds including ospreys, great blue herons, pelicans, cormorants and ibis to name a few. Camping out on the beach was the most fun as we had a camp fire from gathered drift wood and lounged in our air mattress chairs.
Our guide was very knowledgeable of the history, wildlife and environment. My brother and I felt safe going out with me as he knew the area well and had a lot of experience in sea kayaking. The company and our guide were very helpful in making our trip happen. They worked with us on the trip details and their customer service was great as they are very friendly. My brother and I are in our mid twenties and did not have a lot of kayak experience but are athletic and wanted to see as much as we could so we did more miles than the website 3 day tour accounted for. The paddling was difficult at times, more so going against the tides or the wind. Brandon did a good job of charting out our trip so we could go with the tides as much as possible. This trip would be good for families as well but it is good to be in shape as the paddling can be for a while. The paddling is the part where you see a lot and is well worth the effort. If you enjoy seeing some great things and don't mind some physical activity this is an excellent trip for the nature lover/adventure seeker. The kayaks are perfect for making you feel like you are a part of the environment.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaplesKayakCompany, Owner at Everglades Kayak Company, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Guys: thank you for making the effort to sign up and respond and thank you of course for your valuable feedback. We are just so pleased that you had a great time! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A great way to experience the true Everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

4-star services in the back country (a 5-star rating would have required cold beer every night and a thick, soft mattress for improved sleep). I recently completed a 5-day/4-night tour with Dave as our guide. The equipment was top-notch, the food was fresh, healthy and well prepared and Dave was informative and provided just enough guidance (not over the top) to ensure our tour was safe and enjoyable. Every aspect of the tour, including the pre-tour booking, exceeded my expectations. I'm well experienced in day hikes and kayaking in the glades, and this tour rounded out my experiences. I'm looking forward to completing the Wilderness Waterway in the future. Break away from society for a few days with Naples Kayak for a truly memorable experience.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great way to get up close and personal with the Everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was our third trip into the everglades via Kayak. We decided this time to rent 17.5 foot single man Kayaks rather than canoes. Chris @ Naples Kayak is very experienced in picking the right boat for the task. This trip was for only two nights and we were going to camp sites we missed on the last seven day six night trip. The tsunami 17 was great at handling the waves in the gulf and really tracked well. Plenty of space for your gear. Naples Kayak in Everglade city has a nice departure point across from the Rangers station. The Wilderness water way is not for the faint of heart and requires good physically condition.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaplesKayakCompany, Manager at Everglades Kayak Company, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thanks so much for dropping us a line. You are correct about the Tsunami 175's being great in the waves and tracking. These are very efficient rudder boats. We also have P&H Scorpio skeg boats for a different feel in the water.

-
Jay Rose
Director Of Operations
Naples Kayak Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Naples Kayak Company provides an outstanding adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We just completed a 5 day, 4 night kayak adventure with Naples Kayak Company and it was EXCELLENT. Everglades Dave, our primary guide, was awesome; he did a first class job. Not only does he provide incredibly delicious meals, he provided chocolate on Day 3! How he kept it from melting I will never know but it was on my survey for food likes...how's that for customer service. Every meal was delicious and nutritious. Grouper, fried chicken, even alligator for an appetizer! I was so impressed. We were well outfitted and comfortable - Naples Kayak company provided excellent equipment from tents and sleeping bags to kayaks. At the Watson camp we used a large cooking tent to provide mosquito protection.

Mango, our asst. guide, was helpful and fun and took some really great photos he is sharing. Both guides were great. It was a wonderful trip and my only regret is that we do not live close enough to travel with them again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaplesKayakCompany, Owner at Everglades Kayak Company, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you so much for making the effort to provide your valuable feedback. It is much appreciated.
Chris Boland
Owner
Naples Kayak Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Kayak Company also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades Kayak Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Kayak Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.