We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you visit the Everglades - this REALLY takes you amongst nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures

Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures
107 Camellia Street, Everglades City, FL 34139
239-695-3299
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We've been providing novice and experienced paddlers with a wonderful and unique way to experience the timeless, pristine Everglades for more than thirty years. Our family owned business has offered diverse, economical and dependable recreational opportunities for travelers wishing to experience the "real" Everglades. Please join us on one of our guided experiences with an experienced and knowledgeable naturalist guide and experience the fun for yourself!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A must if you visit the Everglades - this REALLY takes you amongst nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were a family of 4 with 2 teenage boys. We had pre booked our early morning kayak trip & airboat ride at the time of booking the Ivey House to stay at. We were very excited about doing this part of our trip & weren't disappointed.
We were ably guided by Troy who was calm & knowledgable which helped put us easily at ease whilst paddling amongst the alligators & then through the Mangrove forests. This was a very special trip seeing the wildlife up close. The tranquility of paddling the waters at your own pace was a lasting memory.
Troy supplied us with water & snacks to keep us going on this 3 hour trip.He even had waterproof poncho's at the ready should the rains arrive! Re the mosquitos, we were all advised prior to our trip what we should wear to help. Luckily for us they weren't too bad & we had bug sprayed anyway.
Troy is passionate about his work which adds to the experience.
If you visit the Everglades then you really should book this trip, you will see it in such a different way & learn so much as you go. The time just flew by.
Later that day we did the airboat ride which was enjoyable in a differnt kind of way. Amongst nature again but in a fast fun way. You are not going to see as much wildlife but its a different way of seeing the Everglades & the perfect end to our 2 day trip there. Our Captain for this trip was again informative having lived amongst it all his life, he knew the area like the back of his hand.
I can't recommend these trips highly enough. If we are lucky enough to go back there - hopefully in the winter we would without a doubt do the trips again to see the Glades in a different season.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    31
    3
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A memorable kayak trip in the beautiful Mangrove forests of Everglades.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A friend of mine and me went from Norway to Florida on our vacation in the middle of June, and decided to go to Everglades City for one day just to do the "Kayak into a new day-trip." Our excellent and knowledgeable guide Troy took us kayaking through the tunnels of Everglades’s mangrove forests. This is one of the most scenic trips I have ever participated in. We saw a lot of nice birds, exotic fish, spiders and alligators. The mosquitos, which are usually legion, were not to bad either. Our guide provided fresh water and snacks for us, and was very good in informing us on everything we saw. Sun block, shirt with long sleeves, pants and mosquito repellent is mandatory. The Kayaks are very stable which gave me an advantage since I have never padled before, and we were also equiped with life vests. We felt safe at all times. We had a really good time in the mangrove forests and the waters of Everglades, experiencing something we will remember for the rest of our life. I can highly recomend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We did the "Magic of the Mangroves" afternoon kayak tour and had booked the airboat ride with Speedy's Airboat tours that morning (as part of a package on the Everglades Adventures website). Allow an hour for the airboat ride and then 3-4 hours for the kayak tour (basically a whole afternoon). You have lunch at Ivey House (if you aren't already staying there) and can also use their bathroom facilities and purchase snacks and drinks, plus they have a small shop with things you could need like bug spray, hats and sun cream, sunglasses, souvenirs, postcards etc... We had a fantastic packed lunch made for us ready to eat before we went off on the kayak tour in the afternoon. More than enough to eat and healthy and tasty too! Bear in mind it's about a 20 minute drive from Ivey House down to the site where you kayak. Staff were all so friendly and with great knowledge. The airboat ride I would highly recommend, they really are speedy and they have small boats that take only 6 people, so it is a much more personalised and fun experience (than some of the other tours I saw that took up to around 10-12 people and did not go fast!). The kayak trip was amazing, going through the mangrove tunnels and spotting the beautiful wildlife, birds and a couple of gators (very exciting)! I would highly recommend this company who are organised, professional and really care and have pride in what they are doing. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable day!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great time even in the rain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family that includes adult aged children enjoyed this. Great sights with great commentary from our guide, Troy. Saw plent of birds and alligators enliven though in the off-season. Easy paddling for sure.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thanks to TripAdvisor for another great travel tip...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I feel like I am either really easy to please or I just seem to have a lot of good luck when selecting hotels, restaurants and excursions. But on second thought...I (and my husband) always consult Tripadvisor when planning our getaways. Once again it paid off. We enjoyed our kayaking excursion followed by an airboat tour. Our guide, Troy, was friendly, honest and great at spotting alligators! We saw over a dozen alligators, a big turtle and plenty of birds. The mosquitos were not bad at all (Mother's Day weekend) but we were prepared. Snacks/water were provided. This was much easier than kayaking in Key West- no wind/strong currents and the scenery was wonderful. The airboat tour was with another company and was fun, but the kayaking was much better. The lunch provided by the Ivey House between our kayaking and airboat trip was nice- huge sandwich, Cheezits, an orange, cookies and water. Would recommend this tour for everyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.