We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two trips, one day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures

Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures
107 Camellia Street, Everglades City, FL 34139
239-695-3299
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We've been providing novice and experienced paddlers with a wonderful and unique way to experience the timeless, pristine Everglades for more than thirty years. Our family owned business has offered diverse, economical and dependable recreational opportunities for travelers wishing to experience the "real" Everglades. Please join us on one of our guided experiences with an experienced and knowledgeable naturalist guide and experience the fun for yourself!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two trips, one day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our family of 6 recently stayed at the Ivey House and did 2 trips in 1 day - the sunrise and sunset. Both are fabulous and I would go again. Tom and Troy were our guides - Tom was all about the plants, Troy was all about the birds :) We had kayaked in Sarasota too and that guide was all about the sea creatures so we learned lots of great information on these trips!

If possible definitely stay at the Ivey House - especially for the early morning trip - it was quite overcast and eventually did rain on us but we and Tom were prepared. And it helps that the hotel has a guest laundry to dry out all the wet clothes.

The sunset tour was really good - it was still cloudy so there wasn't much of a sunset to see but kayaking in the dark with headlamps seeing alligator eyes is awesome! I wouldn't take small children on this tour - mine are 13 and up so they were fine but younger kids might be scared.

If we're ever back to that part of Florida again we will be back to do more kayaking!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    31
    3
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Aurora, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EVERGLADES UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a great time on our kayak trip and loved every minute of it. Jeff was a talented guide who encourged exploration and gave us all our so called "wings" as inexperienced paddlers. The beautiful majestic roseate spoonbill birds were amazing along with the allegators, spiders and crabs . Kayak exploration is totally quiet and makes you one with nature. What a great day. My camera captured many moments but the trip will always be in my heart.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kayaking through The Everglades with guide John Lewis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We kayaked through the Everglades with our guide, John Lewis. We have taken many tours before but this was a true highlight. John was extremely knowledgeable, having a degree and years of experience in this area. He explained everything and answered all questions while ensuring all participants had a fabulous time. No hard kayaking required and we saw the alligators. It was a must do and ask for John as your guide.

The Fowlers

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trail, BC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to see the Everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked a airboat/ kayak trip through Ivey House with friends and can not say enough about how much we enjoyed it!! Hoss was our airboat captain and he was very good about explaining and showing us things during our tour. The airboats are VERY loud but exhilarating. We then went and enjoyed a bagged lunch that we had preordered and had a quick orientation with John Lewis, our kayak guide before heading out for a 4 hour tour through the Everglades. This is how to really see the Everglades .....it was so peaceful and relaxing as we paddled our way through the mangroves. We saw all kinds of birds, 2 alligator and wheeeew spiders.....all the way having John explaining and telling us about the ecosystems that we were going through.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This company operates out of the Ivey House B&B, which was better than I expected and I actually would try a night there to avoid the early morning drive. We booked the airboat/kayak tour. We arrived as instructed which was a bit too early as far as I am concerned. It only took about 3 minutes to sign waivers and get instructions. The airboat was worth it, but not as thrilling as I had hoped. We saw only raccoon's. The kayak tour was completely fun. We were a group of 3, and there were 6 more in the group. The tour takes you through the mangroves and small lakes. Some mangrove tunnels were tight and you needed to only use 1/2 the paddle. I have a lot of experience in paddling so this was great, but getting stuck behind someone who does not know how to paddle could be a drag. A mom and son struggled and thankfully we all learned to get ahead of them at all cost before the tunnels. We did get a good laugh as we would hear their boat coming while we waited as it would clunk off the trees as they tried to navigate. We saw all kinds of bird-life, and several crocodiles which was thrilling to see in that way. Not to worry, you will never be in danger. Our guide Tom was informative, patient, and kind and we really had a great time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.