We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tour.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Speedy's Airboat Tours

Speedy's Airboat Tours
621 Begonia Street, Everglades City, FL
1-239-695-4448
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our company does not run the "big boats" or the "jet boats" we run only the small six passenger airboats. Your captian will take you through both the unique grassland praries and winding mangrove tunnels on your tour into this national treasure we call the Florida Everglades.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
northwest indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Guide was knowledgable and fun. Actually saw a gator on our way back to the dock!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    128
    20
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome ride With Capt Andy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were looking for a real fun time and having never been on an airboat (no air boats in Calif LOL), we were not disappointed. We met Capt Andy right on time for our 9:30 launch. Speedy Johnson's air boats only carry 6 people at the most and it makes for a more intimate run through the grass and mangroves. And the seats sit up higher for great views over the water. We were the the only 2 for our ride so Tina and I got a great personal tour from Capt Andy. He took time to show us a lot about the vegetation and layout of the area. We did not really find ear plugs really necessary, but if you have sensitive ears, you should bring some in case you decide to use them. We got some great video and pix along the way and Capt Andy took us out to some great back drops and took some additional pix of Tina and I as our momentos of the run. We had a terrific time and with the great weather and some 360's thrown in we could not have asked for a better time and Capt to show us what air boating was all about. Another one off the bucket list!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“Fun times in the Everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had so much fun on the airboat with Captain James! He was very personable and enjoyed sharing the swamp with us.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
2 reviews
“A fun ride, but disappointed we were not told before booking that no wildlife would be seen.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

For the amount of money we paid for our group of 5, we would have hoped they would have been more up front about the fact it is only a ride through the mangrove. The said we would see much more, but then once on board our driver told us they hadn't spotted any wildlife for weeks. We saw more gators and wildlife on the roadside on the way in, than we saw on this tour.

The kids enjoyed the speed of the ride, but the adults were left wanting so much more.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Captin Tony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great 1st time ride. Fast and history to go with ride. Staff was very nice.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speedy's Airboat Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Speedy's Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speedy's Airboat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.