We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Interior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades City Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Everglades City Motel to your Saves list
Everglades City Motel
309 Collier Ave., Everglades City, FL 34139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprising Interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked this motel because there weren't many choices. Instead of a dingy little motel room we expected for the night, we found our room clean and fresh upon opening the door. We were more surprised by the totally renovated bathroom which is spacious, granite topped, and supplied with shower gel and shampoo. The best thing was the friendly reception and the free bike to ride around town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    171
    30
    11
    5
See reviews for
83
184
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked here because it was more affordable than most Everglades City places and we wanted to spend one night so we could visit the glades. We expected an old standard motel. This followed our disastrous night in Ft. Lauderdale, so clean would have been sufficient. The room was more than that, it was spacious, clean, convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

From the outside the Everglades City Motel looks like an old school motel but the clean, spacious rooms have been renovated and have much to offer. Two beds, a small fridge and sink, flat screen TV, and the best part--a large updated bathroom with granite vanity and bowl sink. The front desk staff was excellent and gave us a thorough orientation to the area. The location is perfect for a visit to the Everglades Gulf Coast Visitor's Center or the Great Cypress Swamp. The town grocery stores are quite limited, so if you need supplies you should buy them before you arrive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were very disappointed in this motel. It was worn and outdated. The air conditioner was noisy and the room had a funny odor. It was not dirty but definitely not spotless either. On the plus side, the people working there were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I booked this motel based on other reviews, and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were nice sized with 2 beds, flat screen TV, mini-refrigerator, sink, coffee maker and even some utensils and cups. The bathroom was recently upgraded as it had a way-cool pedestal sink. It was clean, quiet and the price was very affordable!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was my first stay in a motel, and if this one is anything to go by I'll try others. We pulled up at reception, checked in and paid; pulled round to room 5, parked and that was it. A good sized room with two big beds, flat screen TV, a kitchenette, and a spacious bathroom with a bath and shower. Everything was clean, the air con was efficient. The water was hot, great after a wet, rainy ride round the mangroves, and the bed was comfortable. The lower rating for service was because the lady on reception had obviously had a bad day and only managed a few words! There is a great diner next door for breakfast. We stayed here for one night whilst touring the Everglades, and for that, this motel was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

So pleased with this property! Most comfortable beds of our whole trip, like sleeping on a cloud! Super clean and I am very picky. The bathroom was amazing! Only drawback was when we turned our air conditioner off we could hear the people in the room next door to us. So we just turned the air on again and went to sleep no problem. Great motel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Everglades City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades City Motel

Address: 309 Collier Ave., Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Everglades City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades City Hotel Everglades City
Everglades City Motel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.