We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Lookout Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Horton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Lookout Cottages
1190 Highway 915, New Horton, New Brunswick E4H 1W4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Sussex, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
“Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a great place to stay! The owners are very accommodating and are so helpful by sharing information about local attractions, etc. The cottages were equipped with everything we needed and then some, including a variety of spices, coffee, tea, sugar and the list just goes on. I plan to return next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We made our reservations in January and had never been to this area of Canada. When we arrived there was a welcome sign on the door with our name on it. This was very impressive. When we walked in, the cabin was beautiful and perfect. Rustic, warm, clean (and I will stress this). The bedroom had the most beautiful, plush bedding on the bed. A cool breeze was blowing through the window. The kitchen was stocked with more essentials than you will need, absolutely perfect. The bathroom perfectly clean with plush towels. The front porch had adirondack chairs that looked out to the Bay of Fundy. Our host were wonderful, with great thought as to what you would need if you came with nothing other than your personal belongings. Thank you Shari and family for providing us with a perfect 3 night stay!

Room Tip: If you like peace and quite with cleanliness and beauty this place is for you. Very family friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our first time in Alma and these cottages made our trip so enjoyable. They are extremely clean and tidy. Everything you need is provided down to the smallest detail.
They are nicely decorated and very charming. Great place for children and adults.
We will be returning !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde River, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Arrived to find the cottage completely set up and ready to go for us. Found a few little extras which we weren't expecting such as a number of brochures left of activities in the area, our names printed and posted on the door, spices and coffee avalable to use and fresh cut flowers on the tables. The owners were extremely friendly giving us an additional run down and answering any questions we had, offerring up fresh towels, as well as checking on us whenever they were around to ensure everything was okay. The cottage was immaculate with nice looking comfortable funiture, availability of internet which worked very well, satellite tv, as well as a small selection of dvd's for those rainy days (which we had a few). They were very accomodating of our dog and even allowed her off leash during the days when we were the only ones there and nobody else was around, which Storm really loved. Wood and firepits were available for use and laundry services were available which was a big plus for us. All in all it was a very low key get away for just over a week which allowed us to fully unplug, unwind and relax. Loved it and will be reccomending it to others!

Room Tip: The community of Alma is 20 minutes away...two stops to make, the bakery for fresh baked goodies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari M, Manager at Captain's Lookout Cottages, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for such a warm review. We loved hosting your visit and learning about your community....I could have talked with you all day long! We so wish the weather had been more accomodating for your week visit. And we sincerely appreciate your patience during our small construction project... you were the best guests to start our season off! Please come back and visit us again... and bring Storm!

Shari
Captain's Lookout Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The owners could not be nicer to work with. They are very accomodating and friendly. A washer dryer is on site for use. Lots of things to do nearby. The cabins are compact and nicely decorated and very clean. No curtains or blinds on the living room windows so there is no privacy in that room, but they all face same direction towards sea view so it is not much of a problem. I would advise bringing your own DVD's. The selection was rather limited with older movies and only one channel on the TV. It's a very nice place to stay and easy to find if you are near Fundy NP.

Room Tip: All cabins are basically the same except for number of bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari M, Manager at Captain's Lookout Cottages, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
So appreciate your kind comments... and pleased your party enjoyed their stay! We have been listening carefully to all our guest's comments and critiques and have made them a priority when preparing for this year's season...

We have upgraded all our cottages with Satellite Television, Highspeed WIFI and also hardwired each cottage as well in case of weather related WIFI interruption.
.
We have also been busy adding new draperies (patio doors) and blinds in the livingrooms of all cottages for additional privacy. We also have a new office and much larger laundry building newly constructed this spring to accomodate our guests.

Thanks again lmiles436 for taking the time to write a review... we really appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My Old Dad and I travel every year to a different province to hike a piece of the TransCanada Trail, and as long-time travellers we do a great deal of research beforehand to find unique and comfortable places to stay where we can enjoy great views, be central to all that we'd like to see and do in the area, and can do our own cooking, laundry, etc. for the duration. This year was New Bruswick's turn, and we planned for mid-to-late September to enjoy the fall colors as well as the whales, tides, and post-tourist season. We have stayed in some amazing places over the years (some of which have been up to 4-5 times more expensive than this one) and can sincerely say that we have never found anywhere with the incredible service and attention to detail we found here. It would have been more than enough that the cottages were so cozy, spotlessly clean, comfortable and homey (even the art in the bedrooms was painted by Shari's mom!), but owner-operators Shari and Charlie went out of their way at every opportunity to make our stay truly wonderful. When my Dad mentioned that he likes to find and cook with local ingredients, not only did they lead us in the right direction, but Shari brought a pot of fresh herbs for our front porch from her home! When they heard we were planning on hiking, they brought us info on local trails, as well as current newspaper articles on events in the area we would certainly have otherwise regretted missing. Charlie even delivered us some local beer for goodness sakes!! We had only planned to stay for a week, but were made to feel so much at home and found so many incredible sights to see and activities to experience right in the area that we stayed for two, and even then were sad to leave. For curiosity's sake, in the course of our roaming around we checked out all of the other area accomodations that we had previously researched on line and through tourist info before arriving, and were very pleased to find that we had, in our opinion, picked the best of the bunch. Incredibly, it was also one of the most reasonably priced. There is nowhere else we'd even consider if and when we're back to New Brunswick again. What a great vacation!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We wanted to see Hopewell Rocks on our way to a longer stay on PEI. Stopping here allowed us to break up a long drive and explore a new area. A full kitchen was important to economize on meals.

My husband found Captain's Lodging on line. Once there, we were so pleased with the service and setting I specifically thanked him about 3-4 times!

What did we like? Well, the cabins and wonderful site, for starters. (More on that later) But even before arriving, booking communication and policies were smooth and explicit. Because we stayed there mid-week and 'off season' checking in early and departing late were offered as well.

On arriving, everything was ready and nicely presented. Because of oddities in timing, we didn't actually met Shari. Yet we never felt neglected any questions were swiftly answered by email. We had everything we needed and more. (I.e., BBQ and fire pit were nice options that never got used.)

Cabins & site: cabins were scrupulously clean and well-appointed. So much so that we wondered if they were newly built. (They're not, but they present that way.) High on a bluff, they offer a wonderful view. We had cabin 3 (a two bedroom unit) so my 80-year-old mother could have ample space.

While compact, the kitchen had everything needed for preparing good meals and sack lunches. (Just a little more space to easily store our groceries would have been useful, more shelves, perhaps?)

Bathroom was fine, hot water was plentiful. The front porch was pretty and restful, complete with a solo brown pigeon mascot.

Big bonus for staying here: there is a small pond nestled at the end of the cabins that feels like a secret find. Behind cabin 6 there's a boggy hiking trail that takes you to a very lovely LARGE pond in about 25 minuets. What fun! Real nature, quite pretty, and we had it all to ourselves.

There's a second hike along the shore that Shari described as your own private Hopewell Rocks. (But we had to go see the real Hopewell Rocks and ran out of time to enjoy this more private opportunity.)

This lodging offers the feeling of camping in nature - but you'll eat, sleep and bath in comfort! I recommend it for good value and attentive, organized service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain's Lookout Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Lookout Cottages

Address: 1190 Highway 915, New Horton, New Brunswick E4H 1W4, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > New Horton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in New Horton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain's Lookout Cottages offers 6 rustic pine cottages high on a hilltop overlooking the Bay of Fundy. We have one and two bedroom cottages, offering full kitchen amenities, linens, towels, BBQ's, Firepits, Highspeed WIFI, Satellite TV, etc... A very private setting with access to a very private coastline with miles of beaches to discover. A lovely lake sits a short hike from your back door. Fantastic walking trails, biking, beachcombing... all right here. We are only 15 minutes from Alma and Fundy National Park and 25 minutes to our famous Hopewell Rocks. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Lookout Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Captain's Lookout Cottages to your Saves list