We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mountain retreat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jebel Shams Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jebel Shams Resort to your Saves list
Jebel Shams Resort
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Jebel Shams, Al Hamra, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Muscat, Oman
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“mountain retreat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Sublime position. Great location to explore the villages around. Bought some gorgeous handmade rugs from the locals. To avoid disappointment, please remember that the whole experience is about sharing with the locals their simple way of life. If you are looking for a bar and a 5 star experience stay in Muscat!!! The hotel staff and the manager were extremely nice and obliging. I was impressed with their hospitality and gentleness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    69
    55
    11
    2
See reviews for
33
76
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We chose this hotel after having read the LP guidebook which writes quote " this camp is so close to the Canyon rim that you will have to be strapped down if you are a sleepwalker" unquote. Well I do wonder if the writer ever stayed there! You would need to walk a good 10 minutes before reaching the rim! Apart from that, this was the worst hotel we stayed at. It is simply run down and the food is just about edible. I guess that given the location, the owner can be complacent until competition arrives. When we checked in, the Omani staff was courteous whereas the caucasian "manager" was boardering politeness.
To be avoided if you can.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Al Hamra hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This tented camp/bungalow ´resort´ is not a resort and 3 stars either. Probably still better than Jabal Shams Heights resort, some 4 kms before you reach JSR. JSHR looks rather spartan, more an exercise plaza for the army.
Of course, one does not expect something grand here, but a minimum of service is helpful. The rooms are not made up, the bathroom has a shower that makes a nice pool of the bathroom itself, the WiFi is slow, if any. The food is straightforward Omani curry, but the restaurant opens only at 7:00pm sharp with a limited buffet. No other place to stay than in your own room. They say there is a bar, but we thought it rather a soda vending shop with no entrance. Breakfast is a choice out of three.
Be aware, it can be cold here and a fleece is absolutely necessary. Fortunately we did not book a tent, temperatures go down to 5 degrees and the heating was working well.
Beautiful sunset is the upside, like the drive to the camp itself. Don´t forget to go into Wadi Guhl. Really spectacular, although the entrance is not easy to find and not signposted.
Would we come again? Yes, but with lower expectations.

Room Tip: Book a bungalow at the ´ridge´ not a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had originally booked a tent but when we arrived, we were really disappointed with what we saw. We paid 50 OMR for a torn tent with broken mattresses, mismatching bedding and four single beds. There was nothing else in the room, other than a tiny heater, not even a bin.

It was so cold that we decided to pay an extra 20 OMR for a chalet. This was better in that there were two proper beds with matching bedding, towels, fridge, TV and heating unit. The bathroom looked nice but the cheap shower unit was so pathetic that we didn't bother to use it.

The WIFI was so slow as to be unusable. The quality of the food at dinner and breakfast was appallingly low compared to everywhere else we stayed. Breakfast consisted of white bread, jam, omelet, baked beans and sausages. Considering the price of the place, the facilities and food paled in comparison to the desert camp we had stayed at the night before. I'm not sure what warrants the name 'resort' as it is far from.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The location of the resort is fantastic, you're very close to the Wadi Guhl canyon with stunning views. The Arabic tents are very basic however and have rather large holes so the provided heater cannot compete with the freezing wind that's coming through. Toilets and showers are below par and tend to get dirty very quickly, shower was cold. Staff friendly and the included dinner and breakfast was good. With some upgrading this might be a splendid place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We booked a tent but got upgraded to a chalet as they weren't full, which was a nice touch. However the wall heater didn't work and so we only had a small blower heater (not really a problem). Dinner and breakfast were good. Location is great as one can walk out to see the sunset and sunrise and also the Grand Canyon. Don't forget your jacket and scarf!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The sunset bungalows are essential but cosy. Difficult to believe it in a land famous for the hot weather, the electric heater is the most useful appliance. Nice setting with mountans views and very close to the "Grand Canyon" of Oman.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jebel Shams Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jebel Shams Resort

Address: Jebel Shams, Al Hamra, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Al Hamra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Al Hamra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jebel Shams Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jebel Shams Resort is located in the Wilayat of Al Hamra which is part of the Ancient city of NIZWA. The Resort is built atop of the highest peak in Oman. Jebel Shams is known as "The Mountain of The Sun" and rises to an altitude of 3000 metres. The most amazing sunsets can be experienced from here. A 4 x 4 vehicle is the recommended form of transport to reach our location and takes approximately 40 minutes to ascend from the nearest town of AL-Hamra. The area is home to weavers of heavy woolen rugs in distinctive colours and geometric designs. The views of the Grand Canyon from Jebel Shams Resort are amazing, ideally situated just minutes walk away from the Canyon and some fabulous Trekking and Mountain Biking, just some activities available to our guests. The temperature in Summer is ideal, usually around 30 degrees Celcius, which makes it an ideal place for a weekend break from the heat of the city's of Muscat and elsewhere for weekend breaks or a great place to explore for visitors around the Globe. Please come and visit us at our retreat and enjoy a wonderful welcome from our staff and take in the fascinating view of the Grand Canyon and the entire plateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jebel Shams Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jabal Shams Hotel Nizwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jebel Shams Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.