We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Fish Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Farlow's On The Water

Farlow's On The Water
2080 S McCall Rd., Englewood, FL 34224-4542
941-474-5343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 95 Restaurants in Englewood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: After you experience a meal at Farlow’s On The Water, you’ll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts and tropical drinks. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow’s offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.
Dolgellau - Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Fish Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very pleasant staff and a comprehensive menu. Decent seating and quick service added to a positive experience. Food hot and well cooked but lacked some finesse with presentation. Portion size was fair. Busy on a Friday and Saturday nights - best to book or expect to wait for a table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for taking a moment to leave a review, as well as your insider tip about the busy weekend nights! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our food, staff and atmosphere. We appreciate your feedback about the food presentation, and will pass this input along to our kitchen staff. All the best, Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    147
    49
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rotonda West, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but need some update on the decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was a nice restaurant, nice food, nice waiting. But the decor would be needing some update and come to 2012

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Elie, thanks for taking the time to leave an excellent review! We appreciate your feedback on the decor, and kind words about the food. I will pass your compliments on to the staff. Hope we'll see you again soon! All my best, Laurie, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“ok, over rated, over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We moved to Englewood recently and when asking anyone about nice places to eat, Farlows always comes up. So we thought we had to go there when looking for something special. It was decent, but I wouldn't say special. Service was good but a little slow. We were very cramped due to the extra tables they squeeze in to serve more people. Food was good but not outstanding. I've had better stuffed grouper at less expensive places in the area and my husband's prime rib was quite fatty. The prices were highly inflated just because it's popular and "on the water" which is just a creek, nothing special. We spent over $200 for dinner for 4. So, overall, I would not recommend it or go out of my way to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, though sorry to hear you weren't impressed overall. Our fans know that we serve fresh, high-quality food and don't mind paying a little more to ensure they get the very best. I'm disappointed that you didn't share that sentiment. I apologize if service was a little slow. If we were crowded that night, I can certainly see how that would happen. I hope you'll get another chance to visit us soon so we can show you how impressive we can be for both a fun and delicious night out. Take care, Laurie, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Saturday afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went to Farlows with relatives that are snow birds and spend months each year in that area of Florida. We drove down and had very low expectations. Farlows was a very nice experience. The new walkway next to the water is a terrific feature since so many on-the-water places have gone out of business in the State.

The menu has a few island style meals, but it is mostly typical American fare. Everyone in our group of eight was happy with the food, including the foodies in the group that expected to be disappointed. Our waitstaff was friendly, attentive and fun.

The food came without any order problems, everything was hot and tasty. The outdoor dining area was very pleasant.

The price point is average for this area and was a decent value.

We will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Surly Waitress”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have been to Farlows many times since it opened and always enjoyed the evening. However on our last visit the waitress could barely bring herself to attend to us let alone be pleasant. She started to tell us about the specials before we had all sat down and I think as we were not seated we were only half listening this seemed to upset her for the rest of our meal. She needs to learn to be more patient.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farlow's On The Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.