We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby bald eagles were visible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Point Environmental Park

Cedar Point Environmental Park
2300 Placida Rd, Englewood, FL 34224
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Attractions in Englewood
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Madison, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Baby bald eagles were visible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

A friend from Englewood recommended this park and since it was on the way to the place we were staying, we stopped and walked the trail to see the bald eagle nest. We did see one of the little ones peeping over the top of the huge nest which was quite a distance away from our vantage point. But then, the park staff doesn't want the birds to be bothered by humans. Loved the flora in the park - old Florida at its best.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotonda
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Used to be better before the logging.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This used to be a nice little all natural park where you could take a leisurly walk along a woodland trail and end up right on Lemon Bay where there was a pavilion with a picnic table. Now the pavilion has been trashed by vandals, and the state or county (not sure who) has seen fit to log off some of the nicer large pines that were habitat to bald eagles and other majestic birds. I'm sure that Charlotte County's austere park budget hasn't helped much either. It's just sad thinking how it used to be, and how it is now. What a waste.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Fine Nature Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We've walked here numerous times, and often we have seen an eagle on or near the near - or flying in the vicinity. The paths are for short distance walking (less than a mile one way), among typical Florida shrubbery and pines, with a couple path points touching on Lemon Bay. You can get a map at the nature center. The nature center and staff is helpful too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is an attractive park with several walks of varying lengths all through natural Floridian vegetation. Having driven past the park on many occasions we finally stopped and were very pleasantly surprised.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed walking thru this park. While we were there we were able to see a huge eagles nest but did not get to see any eagles.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Point Environmental Park also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cedar Point Environmental Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Point Environmental Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.