We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stefano's Family Restaurant

Stefano's Family Restaurant
Indiana Ave, Englewood, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 95 Restaurants in Englewood
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Galena, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I enjoy going to Stefano's every year when we are in Englewood. Good breakfast and good value. See you in 2015!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A diverse menu deliciously prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Had a delicious meal with my fiancé. I had Greek, she had American.

The homemade soups were delicious as was the rest of the meal.

Dinner for 2 was only $27 including dessert and tax.

Worth the trip!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced - felt cheated when I left”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had the Mahi Mahi salad. I asked them if it was like a Caesar salad and the waitress said that it had mixed greens for the lettuce. When I got the salad it was only iceberg lettuce. I wasn't really thinking about the salad until the end and then I asked the waitress where the mixed greens were and she said she couldn't find them when she made the salad so she just used the iceberg lettuce. I also told the cashier on the way out when she asked me if everything was alright. The cashier said that they normally use a mixture of romaine and iceberg lettuce but there was no romaine lettuce in there. They both just said sorry but I don't think the waitress really knew anything about the different types of lettuce. She seemed baffled about the question.
Bottom Line: if I knew it was going to be iceberg lettuce I wouldn't have paid $12.99 for just that and a small piece of Mahi Mahi. That is all it came with except for a bread basket and there was something wrong with the rolls. When you pulled it apart it stuck together. Maybe they microwaved them because I've never had a roll like that. I won't be going back there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Used to be our favorite, might be again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is my first time back to Stefano’s in over a year. It and Howard’s used to be our favorite restaurants, but new management and deplorable changes kept us away.

On a dare, I returned with one of our friends for lunch. Stefano’s, Howard’s and Cross Roads (now Left Coast) in Venice were the only places that had good lamb shanks.

Dan and I both ordered the same: lamb shank, real mashed potatoes, and to start with chicken vegetable soup. The soup was hardy, loaded with pieces of chicken and recognizable veggies with a hint of lemon – a Greek addition.

The lamb shanks were meaty, accompanied with mirepoix of celery, carrots and onions with a hearty serving of light tomato sauce that had a whiff of cinnamon. Our conversation stopped as we both inhaled this afternoon delight.

Included in the $13.99 price was a bowl of rice pudding for Dan and butterscotch pudding for me.

Stefano’s was busy, but our waitress checked on us several times and our table was quickly cleared of unneeded dishes.

In the past, we introduced many of our friends to Stefano’s for not only its varied menu, but also for its service and friendly atmosphere. I’m eager to bring my wife and friends and family back here. This lunch was a pleasant reintroduction to a wonderful restaurant that should remember why we like it. We’ll be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Nice friendly folks. Good service. Menu has wide variety of selections. Very ample portions. Appearance seems to be "homemade" as opposed to "out of the can''. Taste & quality average to above average. The interior is somewhat dated and could use a remodeling. There were more positives than negatives. We intend to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stefano's Family Restaurant also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stefano's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stefano's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.