We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro

Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro
1350 Beach Rd., Englewood, FL 34224
1 (941) 474-9500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 93 restaurants in Englewood
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pacific Rim, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Waterfront Healthy Gourmet Dining
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Must Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and i got into Englewood about 7:30 on a Thursday evening. The bistro was on the way to our hotel on the beach road. I had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and wanted to give it a try. What a perfect way to start to our long weekend in Englewood!

We were greeted by Joshua with a warm smile and a desire to please. We ordered the Greek lamb sliders and a special of grilled cobia over grilled pineapple and wheat bulger tabouli. Both were fabulous. The sliders paired perfectly with the chianti. The unusul bun, pickled onions and fennel set this dish apart from may other lamb sliders. The fresh baby greens salad was crisp and the perfect side. The cobia was grilled to perfection with the grilled pineapple. Both topped a warm tabouli salad and the combination was delicious!

The second night we were in Englewood we got a carry out because we were anxious to see the sunset over the Gulf. We told to go into the bar area to place our order. The bartender seemed disinterested and annoyed that we were ordering to go despite not a person sitting in the room. We overheard him complaining to a server that he had no money in his pockets for a Saturday evening. Go figure. That being said, we again ordered the lamb sliders along with an order of the calamari. All was tasty and well cooked.

On Sunday we returned for lunch. We were once again received by a less than enthusiastic server. He was helpful and courteous but it was clear that he was not thrilled with his shift assignment. We ordered the grilled raddichio salad and the pasta milano. Both were top notch.

It is amazing the food that is put out by this joint from a small trailer. My fear is that the lackadaisical staff will not be enough to get this truly deserving restaurant through the hard summer months.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    185
    47
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“GREAT FOOD NICE AMBIANCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were not aware of this lovely bistro until a friend gave us a gift certificate. We went and were very pleased with the friendly staff and the excellent cuisine. While most customers opted for the outside dining which offers nice water views and live music, we went for the air conditioned inside which is small, only 3 tables. It is very well arranged with good space between tables and quiet with pleasant background music. The menu was small but had excellent choices and there were two specials for the evening. My wife went for the grilled duck special and I had the grilled shrimp from the menu. We were very pleased with both choices..they were delicious and nicely presented. The dining was leisurely and the service very attentive but not intrusive. All in all we were very happy with the experience and recommend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Chowder That Is EXCELLENT---No Kidding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have enjoyed clam chowder from the Pacific Northwest to the East Coast. From IVARS to some of the greatest seafood restaurants out there, none has chowder like this.
I could rave about the chowder and go on and on, but the other items served are equally good.
A good combo of salad and the Ahi Seared Tuna appitizer will set you back about $15, that with the cup of chowder is more than enough for lunch which we enjoyed.

Great view of the water and you can arrive by boat if you wish.

Can't say enough about this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Real food, nothing fried”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here many times, the chef 'EJ' is fantastic. Everything he does has his own flair. All the food is exactly like it says on the menu, with no fried food. A great alternative to the majority of restaurants in the area. Also have some great wines. It is not cheap but well worth it

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here a few times. The food is really good, service excellent. The live music is a real bonus and not too intrusive, the view over the Gulf is exceptional. a great addition to the local restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.