We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Little Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beyond The Sea

Beyond The Sea
3555 McCall Road (776), at Spinnaker Blvd, Englewood, FL 34224
+1 941-474-1400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 99 Restaurants in Englewood
Price range: $6 - $40
Cuisines: American, Fish & Chips, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: GREAT RESTAURANT SUPPER CLUB WITH EVERYTHING FROM LIVER & ONIONS TO SURF & TURF. LIVE ENTERTAINMENT MOST NIGHTS WITH A DANCE FLOOR. GREAT FOOD, SERVICE & VALUE.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“What a Great Little Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had dinnner here with two other couples; first time for me, not the others. All of us really enjoyed our food; I had the stuffed flounder. All servings were good sized portions, came to the table hot, and were reasonably priced. Server was pleasant and sharp - she took all 6 orders by memory and got everything perfect, you don't see that often, wow! The restaurant gave you a real local feel, nothing fancy, but welcoming. There was a small dance floor and a really good 50s singer that added a really nice touch to the experience. We were there on a Friday night and the place was full, so reservations were a good idea and we got seated right away. All-in-all, an enjoyable dinning experience at a good price, with music too! I understand that they have early bird specials-check it out if you're in to that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    14
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently dined there with 16 people in our party. Service was on the slow side as one of the waitstaff had called out just before the shift started. This did not matter to us as we had the opportunity to hear free local entertainment which made the time go by quickly. All 16 dinners was served hot and quite tasty. I had the Bossa Nova which was scrumptious. Several in our party had the shrimp pasta, and the fried fish and chips. The chef came out and asked everyone how our dinners were to be sure we were satisfied. For a nice night out, I suggest you try this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went here after passing by many times just to check it out. Was greeted at the door by one of the owners who asked us if it was our first time and he offered us the Banshee Shrimp as a free appetizer. The waitress was very friendly and helpful in assisting with our dining selection. Live music dinner theater style which was very nice. Some dinner and dancing. The food was good and we are planning on going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had the pot roast dinner which was fork tender, and my husband had the fried half chicken dinner. The chicken was very crunchy on the outside and tender on the inside, although the pieces were on the small side. The Banshee Shrimp appetizer was very large and delicious. The appetizer fish tacos came with 2 tacos that were so tasty, however very drippy and messy. I had to use a fork, but didn't mind at all. The waitress warmed up after a while, but was somewhat abrupt with us at first. We would return to this restaurant, next time we were in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We are eaten here many times...the last two times, including this past weekend, the food was a disappointment. Good service, greeted warmly, but the food was a total disappointment. It had been a couple months since our last meal, which was totally tasteless. This time we went with friends, one couple who had never eaten here before and the meals were terrible. My meat was burnt!! Too bad, it has the best Ahi tuna and firecracker shrimp appetizers!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyond The Sea also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Beyond The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyond The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.