We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not waterside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard's Restaurant

Howard's Restaurant
70 N Indiana Ave, Englewood, FL 34223
+1 941-473-0171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 99 Restaurants in Englewood
Price range: $10 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Howards Restaurant New location with new menu selections Serving Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner Seafood, Steak, Saute, Salad Bar and much more Great food at Great prices
North Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not waterside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I will preface this review by saying I have never written a review about anyplace we have gone except one other time. But I was so disappointed to spend $50 for a meal that was not what the reviews portrayed. We came here from Ft. Myers while checking out the beach in Englwood. Hubby looked up the reviews... knowing I like water, good food, and music he figured that the reviews covered two out of three. What a disappointment. I even took photos to attach but realized you couldn't do that. The water view was a very short inlet up the side of the restaurant that was so weedy and was red tide filled the smell was overwhelming, you could smell it even inside. You stared at a white fence and if you strained your neck you could see the river. My husband ordered the fried Cod special. The portions in a KFC to go cup are bigger, wish I could post the picture. I ordered blackened chicken breast which I must say was large. I paid an extra $3 for a mango salsa that was bland. It was mentioned in previous reviews what a great salad bar they had, it was very disappointing. I have always been skeptical of negative reviews when there are many positive ones . I guess that's why I posted. Very disappointed and would not recommend this place. The waitress was very curtious and the people pleasant but the food and atmosphere were disappointing

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    132
    70
    40
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Absolutely the best full menu restaurant in the Englewood area. Absolutely the best burger in town, ribeyes to die for, and pork shanks that fall off the bone. Soups are very good and the salads live up to their reputation. As for the fresh seafood, WOW!! Ahi tuna atop an Asian salad is my favorite but close behind is the fresh salmon, and the crab legs are very popluar. Can't wait for the new & improved Howards to open in September of 2014 when the bar, and the menu will be further expanded with some additional premium choices. This restaurant puts customer satisfaction first!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Food at Reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The wife liked the coconut shrimp so much that she ordered 2 days in a row. My sister said the lamb chops were the best she ever had. I had a chicken special which was very tasty and a steak dinner which was excellent. Food portions are large for the price. Alcoholic drinks are 2 for 1 price at happy hour. The locals seem to hang out here. Atmosphere is family not romantic or ritzy. The salad bar is not huge but has unique items I hadn't seen before.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food. Needs a face-lift!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Good food, Could use a remodel. Waitresses need to be a little more enthusiastic about their restaurant and food. Salad bar needs a boost!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The food was good the salad bar is huge. Their "half sandwich is bigger than "Full sandwiches", other places.
The hostess and the waitress where very happy to have us as customers today.
Over all a very pleasant lunch.
The business is planning to move next month, to N. Indiana, just up the street a mile or so .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howard's Restaurant also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Howard's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.