We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owner - New Name - New Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Food Is Love - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Food Is Love
41 N Indiana Ave, Englewood, FL 34223
+1 941-473-9439
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New Owner - New Name - New Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

The food is tasty, always nice to try authentic classic Austrian dishes. There is nothing like it in our hometown. We found the prices comparable to all the decent restaurants we've tried in Englewood. Love the burgers and the Philly cheese-steak is awesome too.
The wait staff is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    6
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go to Howard's now”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I took the pictures for food is love when it was food is love. The new owners ruined a great restaurant . So for all the regular food is love groupies . We are going to meet at Howard's at 9:30 am on September 26. This will be our new food is love hangout.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romana H, Inhaber at Food Is Love, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
the customer was not here and he has eaten nothing here.
make an advertisement for the restaurant opposite.
Please immediately remove. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The food definitely lacks taste. Too charge these prices I would expect excellent food.Not a place I will be returning to.Not to mention an extra $2.50 charge for my friend and I sharing a platter. I can cut a sandwich in half myself for free.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast and lunch today. We ordered Quiche, Rueben and Brisket and found everything to be delicious the prices were fair and service excellent. We plan to dine there for breakfast and lunch at Least once more this week. new owner are nice people and hard working to live the American dream, By serving excellent food at fair prices. Well done Romey. And Leo

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sadly Not the Same”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Food is Love has new owners, and everything has changed. The staff is friendly,
but the food is lacking....they must be using a different produce and meat supplier
because the quality is not there. The menu is different, more like a casual dinner, and the BBQ-
smoked meats are no longer there. The server said everything was the same, but she obviously
had not enjoyed the predecessors food. Now it's just like a Denny's ....the Love is gone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Is Love also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food Is Love, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.