We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Sea Food, Nice View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Trap II - CLOSED

Crab Trap II
4815 17th Street East, Ellenton, FL 34222
941 729 7777
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Real Sea Food, Nice View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This restaurant has been serving excellent sea food to the locals for well over twenty years. We travel over forty miles to visit and are never disappointed. While there is one sister restaurant nearby (the Crab Trap I) this is not a chain, it's the real deal. If you like crab meat, you will fall in love. They serve the best crab imperial ever, in addition to many, many other crab dishes. The hot bacon dressing on their salads is wonderful. They also dabble in exotics, including alligator, if you enjoy adventure. Florida is known for its seafood, and this place is one reason why. The décor includes ship's doors and cypress knees and roots, adding an outdoor and warm feel to accent your dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    39
    23
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big place with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

First off our waitress Lisa was awesum. Big place with a hugh menu. Pricey prob because of the selection and portions are plenty. Inside and Outside deck seating with gator views. Only thing i didnt care for was the employee gossip/ cursing talk around the bar area. Def would go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food with a view of the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Overall, this restaurant was very good. We ordered a ton of food. The crab and asparagus soup was excellent. Lots of crab. A little pricey though. I ordered the broiled flounder, shrimp, and crab cake. The crab cakes here are excellent. They are better fried than broiled though. The mix is basically all crab. The seafood au gratin my dad really liked. The waitress told us it was all cheese, and she was not kidding. My dad however loves cheese. Too much for me. The grouper Oscar is amazing. We ordered one broiled and one fried. Fried was better (of course) and both were cooked perfectly. Asparagus, crab, and hollandase sauce. Can't go wrong. The clam strip appetizer was good, but a little pricey for what you get. Happy hour had buy one get one free house wines and beers. I really liked the food, it was just a little pricey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you can bring yourself to pass by a couple other restaurants in the area, you will arrive at the Crab Trap II, just off 75 in Ellenton, FL. From the parking lot, hey, it's a restaurant, but as soon as you enter, it is a NICE restaurant, with a very complete menu, lots to choose from (crab, grouper, Mahi Mahi, other seafood dishes), great range of prices to meet most budgets. The view, during the day, is wonderful, overlooking the river, gators, birds, etc. Our waiter, Tim, was super friendly and efficient. The food was VERY good, from the grouper fingers, to scallops, to my medium burger platter, perfectly cooked MEDIUM. All four of us liked it a LOT, thought the food was great, and really just liked the whole atmosphere. Relaxed Florida dining at it's best. We will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We always stop on the way too and from Naples, FL and today was no exception. The food was great and we had our daughter and her husband with us. There Three Crab Soup is to die for. This is a must stop place traveling on I -75.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Trap II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.