We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view with excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Trap II - CLOSED

Crab Trap II
4815 17th Street East, Ellenton, FL 34222
941 729 7777
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
DADE CITY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful view with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The view is beautiful!! The food was exquisite... Excellent service... We have been there 4 times recently. Each time we try a different appetizer.. The kangaroo is excellent as well as all the seafood and chicken.. I have never seen such a variety of food.. There is something for everyone. The portions are more than generous..If you leave hungry there is something wrong.. The service is Excellent. I like to look at the view and see the birds, turtles and gators... If you get a chance to go,I would recommended you going...Wonderful atmosphere!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    39
    24
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Crab Imperial”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Went here last night to celebrate an 82nd birthday. All of us had the Crab Imperial. All felt it was very good. Three of us who got the spinach salad felt it had too much dressing. View was wonderful watching the birds come in for the night, and the waitress was excellent. Give it a try if you are in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Escape the shopping fever---relax with local beauty and gourmet taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to this "out of the way" restaurant that meets all my favorites: water view, elegant decor for a small town restaurant and a wide choice of excellent food. We have concentrated on the fish---Chesapeake Crab cakes and tilapia this time---both of which were excellent. Can't recomment the grouper au gratin though---too heavy on the cheese. If you like blue cheese, the cole slaw is wonderful. One thing we really liked were the "Light" Meals featured on the back page----less food and less price. In our case it meant that we were pleasantly full after we finished the meal. The regular meals are very generous portions. We were there mid-afternoon and had great service and a very quiet meal. We even had enough room for one of their homemade desserts---key lime pie was wonderful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FUN FAMILY GATHERING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ten of us (4 children and 6 adults) visited the Crab Trap II restaurant for dinner. The staff were friendly and our server took very good care of all of us. We ordered everything from calamari /onion blossoms / grouper / crab cakes / to burgers and king crab legs. We came from Colorado and Ontario to get together with Florida family and along with being happy to be together we were entertained by two alligators in the lake outside our window. They didn't have alligator that day (as advertised on their menu) so I think I got the 'catch of the day' with my pic!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“must stop if in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

best steaks in florida. variety of crabs is incredible!service top notch!by no means a tourist trap as most you see are locals. they have one in palmetto also, but we prefer this one

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Trap II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.