We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting but Average Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Oyster Bar - Ellenton

Anna Maria Oyster Bar - Ellenton
1525 51st Ave E (301 & I-75), Ellenton, FL
(941) 721-7773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Ellenton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sun City Center, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Setting but Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Oysters were $.50 each so place was jammed. Oysters had a good salty taste, but some were very small and few were shucked properly. Onion straws were limp but French fries were crisp and tasty. The lobster bisque didn't have much taste. Frozen margarita was strange.....never melted....must be some awful chemical! Draft beer was super cold. Overall we were disappointed. Rather pay more and have higher quality. Our server was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    89
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding on every visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Husband raved about raw oysters as apetizer and fried scallops; my stuffed flounder was excellent. Waitress was attentive and pleasant. Never had bad meal; recommend to everyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited twice in the past few weeks and sampled many items: Fried oyster dinner, fried chicken, a shrimp and pasta dish, fish sandwich, and a burger. All were delicious and served nice and hot with a friendly smile.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous lunch while visiting our parents last week. Our server Meg was excellent. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the onion straws and oyster appetizers will terrific as well. We can't wait to return next time we visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Ellenton is the 3rd location for AMOB. We selected it for lunch from Trip Advisor as a midpoint between friends in Tampa and us in Longboat Key, FL. Perfect! The weather was great so we ate outdoors in a covered area at a picnic. Wonderful welcoming staff and outstanding service. The manager was present and visible. Orders included lots of Cucumber Dill Salmon and Fish & Chips. The salmon was fresh and flavorful and fried fish had a light batter. Sides were great and the server was so good we had to compliment the managers. The prices are very reasonable. Afterwards we sat by the water to continue our visit and viewed birds and alligators (DO NOT FEED). We, however, were fed very well. It was a delightful afternoon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anna Maria Oyster Bar - Ellenton also viewed

 

Been to Anna Maria Oyster Bar - Ellenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Oyster Bar - Ellenton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.