We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Restaurant

Athens Restaurant
1041 South Ridgewood Avenue, Edgewater, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 31 Restaurants in Edgewater
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Yulee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The place is clean and the atmosphere is dinersque. The food is WONDERFUL!!!! Everything is homemade-- salad dressing, bread, desert, etc. The prices are reasonable. I was full after my salad (the best I have eaten no hyperbole). I ordered the gyro plate and just tasted it; I will have to eat the rest later. Delicious and rich. I cannot wait to go back. Baklava for desert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Greek Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

When we have a hunger for Greek food, we usually go to this local Greek restaurant. I ordered the gyro and my wife ordered the spinach pie. As usual, both dishes were very good and the portions were hearty sized. We also shared and enjoyed our usual saganaki (flaming cheese) appetizer...the presentation is certainly eyecatching. Service at this sort of mom 'n pop restaurant, was friendly and efficient. It's not a fancy place, but the food is very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good homemade bread to start and delicious dinners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hardworking couple gives their all to make guests welcome and to serve their delicious homemade Greek food and regular fare. Delicious cookies are also available. Stop in Tuesday through Saturday to enjoy a wonderful meal and service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“authentic greek food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a small family owned restaurant that serves very good Greek food. Service is a bit slow but it's often a one woman show.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unbelievably bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

First, it's dark and not so clean. Our food came out and my husband asked why there was a big vein in his meat - you could see down it - and they said it was part of the meal. That's when he pulled the big black hair wound around his potato salad and asked if that came with it too!!! Nasty - would not go back even if it was free!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Athens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.