We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pizza Joint

The Pizza Joint
7973 W Dunnellon Rd, Dunnellon, FL 34433-2026
352-564-1300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Only wood burning pizza restaurant in Citrus County.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The Pizza Joint is not really close to anywhere, and it's attached to a convenience store/gas station. If you hadn't already known about it, you'd probably drive right on by, and if you do, you'll be missing out on some of the best pizza in central Florida. They offer a wide variety of pies baked in a wood fired oven, and the one we had today was excellent. It's definitely worth the effort to find the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food in Citrus County area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

After recently moving back to Citrus County, I was excited to try out The Pizza Joint, which I found randomly one day on TripAdvisor and was taken aback by the outstanding reviews. As I am always on what seems to be a perpetual search for amazing pizza, my fiancee and I stopped in here on our first night back. While I often feel that most pizza places offer a standard, sub-par product that we have all come to know, The Pizza Joint stands out above and beyond the mediocre "Italian" food that is so common in not just Citrus County, but in large cities, as well. Upon entering, we were immediately greeted with a friendly welcome and told that there was no problem with us enjoying the wine that we brought (always a bonus). We ordered the eggplant special which came with thinly sliced eggplant, fresh garlic, and fresh basil. The pizza was cooked to absolute perfection, tasted fresh, and had wonderful flavor. We can't wait to go back again and are looking forward to trying out the wings next time. We already told our family and some friends about this establishment as we were extremely excited for something so genuinely good and special to be in the area. I have eaten pizza all over the country, including New York City, and this place is up there with the best of them without the pretension and right here in beautiful Citrus County. Highly recommend this place!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Pizza, Best Wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I have ordered take out twice so far. The first time ordering the arugula special pizza with the PJ salad. All I can say, you have to give arugula on a pizza a try...this pizza is awesome!!! As I am sure the rest are. LOVE the wood fire crust! Love the flavors of the pizza. The salad was huge, and enough for 3 people with a homemade Italian dressing, so good. Then last night I ordered the wings.....WOW!!! Yummy! They marinade them in a home made marinade and them cook them in that special wood oven, so good, so tender (I would love to have some more right now). Not only is this little place a food find (can't wait to try the pastas and homemade meatballs), the owner is such a nice guy. He is so friendly, and shows he appreciates your business, and he even had one of his staff carry my food out to the car. This place reminds me of what would be everyone's favorite place in a NYC neighborhood. I wish them much success, and will be back on a weekly (or more) basis.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrific Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Another terrific Trip Advisor find. This is not a place I would have ever stopped if not for reading the reviews. Amazing cannoli and pizza. Taste like it in right out of NYC.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Leave the gun, and take a cannoli!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The subject line of this review is, of course, a famous quote from "The Godfather" movie. But it works for this review too! We had our usual delicious meal (their pasta with ricotta and meatballs) at The Pizza Joint last night, but this was the first time we took a pair of cannolis home. They were "killers" ( in the very best way). When you go there next time, you MUST not leave without at least one! Try it...you'll love it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pizza Joint also viewed

Dunnellon, Central Florida
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 

Been to The Pizza Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pizza Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.