We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Gator Tiki Bar & Restaurant

Blue Gator Tiki Bar & Restaurant
12189 S. Williams Street, Dunnellon, FL 34432
+1 352-465-1635
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 43 Restaurants in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: This is a unique tiki bar restaurant set on the banks of the Withlacoohcee River. We offer indoor and outdoor dining. Great selection of seafood, steaks, burgers, chicken, Terrific salads as well. Live music Thursday through Sunday.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We're on vacation & can't eat three full meals. Therefore, we usually stop & share an appetizer for lunch. Today we chose the gator bites with spicy ranch dressing which were out of this world. Cooked to perfection!!!!! There was a nice light breading with some kick. We ate most of the bites without the ranch because they were so good.

The price was very reasonable $6.99 & draft beers were $2 each. Our bill came to $12.47 without the tip.

There isn't any inside dining. While we were there it did start to rain and fortunately under the roof there were some open tables where the customers relocated. But, if the restaurant was full these customers would have no place to relocate. :(

Barb was our server & did a FINE JOB!!! ;) She was very friendly & attentive to our needs!!! THANK YOU, Barb. A friendly server makes dining out very special!

When in the area again, we definitely will come back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    83
    27
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

When they first open we liked it, seems they can't keep servers and it is just entirely too loud. We haven't enjoyed it there for some time and way to expensive for the area

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food was a good surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Service was a+ and the food was a great surprise! We followed the reviews and had lunch here, and were not at all disappointed.

You have a great view of the river, and all of the boats coming and going. Also saw Great Heron, Egrets just hanging out on the dock. There is a tour boat that takes off from there, which sounds interesting, but they were booked the only day we were there.

Parking is a bit of a bear, but not impossible.....

Go, you won't be disappointed! Enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNNELLON
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The all american out door eating exp.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

it was nice they serve alot of food and awsome gatoerbites.... at a ggod price and on weekends live bands..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“On the Water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We will return on a sunny day but Libby helped make our visit enjoyable despite the rain and low temperatures. Other than where the band sets up there is no covered seating.My pound of shrimp were perfectly cooked. The fries were very good. Other food choices were average.The view must be the best on a sunny warm day. With live music it would be hard to pass up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Gator Tiki Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Dunnellon, Central Florida
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 
Dunnellon, Central Florida
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 

Been to Blue Gator Tiki Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Gator Tiki Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.