We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Operation he has going” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow River Canoe and Kayak

Rainbow River Canoe and Kayak
12121 River View, Dunnellon, FL 34432
352-489-7854
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Activities in Dunnellon
Type: Tours, Bodies of Water, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rainbow River Canoe and Kayak is located at the end of the Rainbow River on the Withlacoochee River. Park your car and ride our upriver shuttle to the paddling destination of your choice. On either river, you float downstream back to your car. We offer the largest selection of canoes and kayaks in the area, Old Town Canoes and 'sit-in' Kayaks and Ocean Kayak 'sit-on-tops'.
Mulberry, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Operation he has going”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We rented a canoe from R R C & K. We had a great time. We reserved ahead of time and got a 10% discount. We arrived, we checked in and got the map instructions, we road their shuttle to the KP Hole, launched the canoe with our dog, we paddled upstream to the head springs and back down to R R C & K. Instructions were clear, the trip was great. I have already recommended to friends and we will definitely be back (preferably when no tubers around). I even bought a T-Shirt. Love It!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“incredible springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have rented a canoe twice from Rainbow River Canoe and Kayak. They are really nice people. The springs are incredible and we have found the stretch of the river to be satisfying in terms of physical exertion. Both times we paddled up to Rainbow Springs State Park, adding some length to our outing. If you do this tour, you have to paddle up to the park. The water is deep and clear -- truly beautiful. The second time we canoed we brought our dog. The springs are cool and it is rare to see alligators on this stretch of the river (We tend to be very careful where we take our dog due to the potential for gators). We went in at KP Hole, paddled up to Rainbow Springs SP, then downriver to Rainbow River Canoe and Kayak. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Canoe/ Kayak Rental Company for Rainbow River~!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a blast on the water at Rainbow River, and it was all thanks to staff at Rainbow River Canoe & Kayak. They were really helpful, friendly, and offered a great deal if you want to spend a few hours on the water. Unlike some of the other experiences I've had in the past where there was a set time limit on the rental, RRC&K just had a flat rate. And even though it rained a ton the day we were we out, we had so much fun, and it was so beautiful that we stayed out for about 6 hours on the water, and made it back in time before the shop closed (thanks!). The shuttle service they offer is terrific, and the whole process made everything very easy for us. I wish all companies operated this way :)

Park Tips:
Make sure to have at least $5 cash per person for the park entrance fee. The river has a no alcohol, no disposable-items law, so be sure to come prepared if you are packing a lunch or bringing water. We put everything in air-tight Tupperware containers (including our phones & small items) and were happy we brought lunch on board since we ended up staying out so long. Water needs to be in Thermos containers (no plastic bottles), and having a hat, sunglasses and sunblock will be very handy. Maybe bug spray too if it's appropriate.

The canoe is massive for 2 people, so it's great if you are bringing on a lot of gear, but if you're packing light, a kayak would be just fine. Also, you can't sit facing each other to chat on the canoe, so that's something to think about for when you're having lunch or just hanging out on the water. For us, it still worked out well since we had the tupperwares to load in, but the tandem kayak may have worked just as well. Either way, we had an awesome day out on Rainbow River~! Thanks RRC&K~!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Kayaking the Rainbow River to Dunnellon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had always intended to "tube" in one of Florida's freshwater spring rivers but my wife was never keen. This vacation my wife and her friend went off on a cruise from Tampa leaving Norm and myself with some free time. I suggested driving up to one of these, but he preferred a kayak to a tube. A quick google found Nathan's company and a reservation was made.

We chose the Rainbow River as it was the shorter ride and because it was clear fresh water, and we chose to be on the 11 o'clock shuttle from the base. You are requested to be there about 20 minutes prior, to book in and sort out kayak requirements, lifejacket etc. We had driven up from St Pete and arrived just in time. I particularly wanted a kayak with as low a centre of gravity as possible, which was arranged, but there all sorts available including ones with a clear window on the bottom.

The former school bus towing the trailer of canoes and kayaks was driven by a really humerous and chatty fella snd we were soon delivered to KP Hole. Here we had to visit the park office and purchase a paper souvenir wristband for five dollars (Park admittance) during which time the trailer had been reversed to the slipway.

Equipment stowed in the canoe and lifejacket donned we were gently shoved into the water, and needed to make the choice of paddling upstream to the head of the Rainbow River, or just to commence the journey down. We chose to head upstream and it was really easy to paddle. KP Hole was a location for people to tube, as well as canoe and kayak, but i have to say that i'm glad we went with the kayak option because 72 degree water would be a little cool after four hours !!!

There were lots of small fish around the slipway at KP Hole as both Norm and myself paddled away. Following the other two people on the shuttle who opted for the two seat canoe. We travelled upstream go the head of the river passing plenty of turtles herons and other assorted birds including some pretty black birds with vivid red "shoulders".

From the rising of the river we alternately drifted and paddled our way downstream passed some boatdocks one side of the river and natural riverside on the other bank. Having travelled quite a way down the river we started to try and remember the snippets of information we were given at the briefing, by Nathan's beautiful wife. There is a lake off to the right near to a house with a Ship's hull roof. You don't need to go into that - accessed by going under a low bridge. You only go under one bridge - the route 484 bridge which has a bar and grille alongside if you are hungry and thirsty.

The clear Rainbow river is joined from your left by the dark and tannic Withlacoochee river just a few hundred yards from Nathan's yard which you need to be looking out for on your right. This is indentified by an upturned canoe bearing their name. Nathan's wife came down to the slip to help us take out the canoes and take us back up to the offices.

We had a fantastic time and highly recommend this trip to anyone who feels they'd like something different to theme parks on a visit to Florida. You don't need to be skinny and fit to do this because i am neither, but just make the effort to have some real quality nature time.

A couple of tips to remember ;

Listen carefully to the map brief
Take five dollars cash with you for the wristband at KP Hole
Don't forget sunblock and consider insect repellent.
Take drinks and food in dishwasherable bottles / tubs. Disposable wrapping / bottles is strictly prohibited by park rangers. We took aluminium water bottles.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It "otter" be a great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Kayak or canoe on the Rainbow River in Dunnellon - and discover the natural beauty of this crystal clear water way. Spectacular bird life, turtles, otters, and fish abound. For 2.5 hours we enjoyed paddling effortlessly down stream for the full 5.7 mile stretch, taking breaks to photograph trees dripping with spanish moss near the river's edge. The Rainbow River is just 20 miles from Ocala, and 100 miles from Tampa Bay and Orlando. The Rainbow River Canoe & Kayak is a well managed business, run by Nathan who also serves as the town's mayor!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow River Canoe and Kayak also viewed

 
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 

Been to Rainbow River Canoe and Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow River Canoe and Kayak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.