We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dirty, nasty, and over-crowded” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Springs State Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunnellon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Springs State Park
Save
You added Rainbow Springs State Park to your Saves list
18185 SW 94th St, Dunnellon, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Richey, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The dirty, nasty, and over-crowded”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The park restrooms are D-sgusting! There are people EVERYWHERE...leave ALL your valuables in the trunk of your car! The water has no wading so bring a floaty noodle and dont think you'll be able to slowly get used to the water temp. Also, this park seriously needs a changing area (the nasty bathroom stalls dont cut it)! Even though the water was great, we will NEVER return to this park...florida has way nicer ones!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    21
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

What a nice find!!!!

Rent a tube for $10 and you've got two hours of relaxation ahead as you leisurely float down two miles of Rainbow River Springs. Beautiful trees, birds, lovely homes to see right on the river. Water is shallow so you can hop out at any time, snorkel, swim or just take a quick dip. This is a great solo activity or for groups (kids too).

Kayaks and canoes are available for rent or you can bring your own gear. Boats are allowed on the river if you are so inclined.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We camped here w a group and enjoyed the campground. Most sites are not shaded, but we used fans and tent shades. Sites are big and well spread out. Certainly did think they were on top of each other. We tubed from state park. $10 and change per person for tube and tram.
Will certainly return - will probably stay away from hot summer months here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We've stayed here several times and thoroughly enjoy it. Yes, there is very little shade, but you can pick a site so that you get the morning sun and it's not too bad. #13 is the best site! While at the river, we watched the bald eagle, saw sandhill cranes, a pair of pileated woodpeckers and a hawk. We drove over to the Springs and hiked the trails. The azaleas were in bloom, it was early morning and very few people there. My husband has been coming here since the 40's and remembers the old rides and enjoys talking to the rangers about the old facilities. The did have a fire in the gift shop around Christmas and it and the snack bar are now closed. And only 1 waterfall is running. We spent an afternoon visiting the antiques shops in Dunnellon and another day drove up to Cedar Key. A great place to use as a base camp to go visiting the nature coast of FL or, like us, a quiet, quick place for a nice mid week getaway

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Rainbow Springs was a highlight of our Florida holiday.
We did not camp there, but did spend an afternoon exploring the springs and the trails of the park. The property was a popular theme park from the 1930s-1970s, until losing favor to newer attractions like Disneyworld (c.1970) and other Orlando locations.

Florida State Parks purchased the land in the '70s and have allowed it to revert to the wild, though there are still relics of its theme park days evident throughout the park. Ruins of a small zoo, rodeo grounds, and man-made waterfalls are interesting footnotes to its former life. There used to be glass bottom boat tours and an aerial tram way, both long gone. However, you can rent canoes and kayaks at a concessionaire inside the park, and cruise the beautifully clear blue-green springs. There's a buoyed-off swimming area for easy access to the year-round 72 degree water. Lots of fish can be spotted by the naked eye, because the water is so amazingly clear. (Note: there are also warning signs about alligators!)

Other hightlights: Beautiful dense tropical forests, and interesting birds. Plus a butterfly garden. The visitor center is well-stocked with park history, books and souvenirs and the staff is helpful and informative.

We really enjoyed Rainbow Springs State Park and will be sure to visit again next time we're in the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I saw that many campers thought the camp sites were on top of each other, but I guess I'm used to Florida campgrounds and thought the sites were decently set apart. Very clean grounds. We have a trailer, but there are separate sites for RVs and tents.

Camping sites are waling distance from the river, or you can pull your car over to the ranger station and it is a short 1/4 of a mile walk. Not sure why they don't have parking closer. That is one suggestion I would make.

I saw bunnies running around last night. There are owls, and of course gators. It is about 20 miles to Crystal River to swim with the manatees. A good overall experience.

Room Tip: We had lots of shade on our site. There are two separate camping areas, we were in site #50 which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

This campground is like a parking lot cut into slots for RV's. BUT there are some tent friendly spots site 12 and the sites to either side have shade and back on to woods. The "tent" area is in a back corner also backs to woods. Sites are tight and not very private. We had a good site and enjoyed the kayaking on the spring. It is a very beautiful place. The river/spring is long and you can spend the day floating, swimming etc.. However that is all the campground offers no hikes, just the spring. A note to parents bring bikes for the kids, the camp ground is paved and my kids had a blast riding around. I am torn, I would love to see the spring again but not sure about camping experience.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rainbow Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Springs State Park

Address: 18185 SW 94th St, Dunnellon, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Dunnellon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dunnellon
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Rainbow Springs State Park Hotel Dunnellon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Springs State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.