We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eli's BBQ

Eli's BBQ
360 Skinner Blvd, Dunedin, FL 34698-5769
727-738-4856
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 145 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

for three years every time I rode by Eli's in the bike trail, I told myself that the humble looking place could well be a good place for food. today, I finally stopped by for the first time. I ordered rib sandwich, of corse. what I got was four piece is ribs sitting on top of two pieces of sliced white bread - there was really no "sandwich" to speak of. then the meat itself was more chewy than tender - they did not fall off of the bone even after I bite into it. also, he overall cooking was bland and there was NO sauce of any kind to choose from. very disappointed. I had only two pieces and got bored with it. (caveat, Eli passed away last night as I was told. could be the reason cooking was not good. I only hope this is not the beginning of decline since they lost the cook.)

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good basic barbecue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The food is simple...barbeque that's been smoked for a long time. Very simple fare, but when you want BBQ, it's a solid choice. Take it home or eat at a picnic table beside the highway....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“There's a line for a reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was the line that attracted us: as we drove into Dunedin, we thought this place was an old-fashioned ice cream stand. But when we went for a walk on the Pinellas Trail that borders its grounds, we discovered this is a wonderful BBQ that is only open on Fridays and Saturdays -- one of those local treasures one hopes to find when traveling. The staff carries the meat in from the smokehouse out back, and you can watch it being chopped...sweet sauce, beans and slaw, and that's about it. Unless you want a pickle. They've got those too!!! Do it. You won't be sorry. Just arrive hungry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Southern Georgia style open pit BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As my header stated this is open pit Southern style BBQ. The emphasis is on the meat flavour, not the smoke (which is primarily red oak w/ white Oak and a hint of Hickory). The meat is cooked in an open pit and so tends to be a bit chewier than closed pit BBQs. It is lightly seasoned not rubbed...

All of that said - excellent, really excellent. spectacular chicken and ribs. I would have tried the butt, however I can only eat so much.

Cons - only two sides - slaw and beans - both great - only open Friday & Saturday - open picnic table seating.

BTW - Tripadvisor is a poor resource for foodies because it is nearly impossible to introduce new restaurants here unless they have a web site. For this reason, I have stopped trying to post reviews on new and undiscovered restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Right on the Pinellas Trail...Great stop for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were walking our dogs and decided to stop in. Good pulled pork. Good value. I was hesitant to eat at a little "stand-looking" place, but I'm glad I did. It's not fancy, no indoor seating, just picnic tables under the trees....but it was really good. We'll be walking back up there, may be even this weekend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Eli's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eli's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.